tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/07/2013 : FINVARRA -

FINVARRA

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[90/100]   

Self-released
20/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's their first cd and it's already a hit! Ok, it's not as party minded as Rastaban or Asynje, but still! To me it's a very emotional one, well worked out!

Their influences include Pentangle, Mediaeval Baebes, Steeleye Span, Dead can dance, Lunasa, Shantalla, Dervish and Malinky. Finvarra infuses Celtic folk with spicy oriental elements. These four troubadours are not afraid to experiment with new styles and instruments.

The first song 'The cliffs of Moher' (combined with Jethro Tull's Kelpie) has a very Irish influence (at least very Celtic): listen to the voice & the violins. It's a soft ballad, on the edge of traditional dancing tune from the Celts, but I’m not a pro, so correct me here if needed. 'The wind that shakes the barley' sounds like a mix between tsigane music and old school Celtic (nicely sung by Dieke). The tempo is a bit slower and the story of the song seems to be more important than dancing. A gypsy tune enchants 'Jovano Jovanko’, giving it a very mystic sound in the beginning and ending in a Gypsy party. The violin plays a very important role here. 'Dimna Juda' is a soft chant based on an old Macedonian song about a witch who eats young children and then builds her house with their bones. Dimna Juda is started by Gwen, and then Dieke joins in, followed by Patrick and Corné. 'The well below the valley' starts as a Gypsy minded song and changes into a more medieval song that makes you want to dance. Love the rhythm and the way the song is built up. 'Only our rivers run free' is sung in such a beautiful way by Gwen, it's almost unbelievable. The medieval and tsigane twist is simply great! The lyrics are true: only our rivers run free! 'Drink down the moon' also starts very slow, intimate and yet again an angel sings oh so fragile (love Gwen's voice). Love this song, for sure as the start gives me goose bumps. After a while the tempo rises and more instruments join the party. This song could be a great first song for a gig! I would describe it as a medieval ballad or even medieval dance (for sure when the violin joins again). 'Flatworld' also starts slowly, with a medieval twist and a nice flute played by guest musician Erica van Brenk of the bands Orfeo and RAMA. Once again more and more instruments jump in before the party starts, no vocals on this one. 'A poison tree' is again a slow one. I love the blending voice's: gives it a warm and full sound (here Dieke sings the lead vocals, with Gwen backing up). The acoustic guitar gives it a very intimate sound, the violin a very romantic touch. 'The battle of evermore' also combines both voices at their best. It feels very bittersweet, growing slowly and yet again after a while more and more instruments jump in and give the song a deeper and richer sound. Love the melancholy of this song. This one somehow has a retro '80s sound. Just can't catch the name of the band I’m thinking about. 'The blacksmith' is a great one, love the voice and the little drums on it, well aided by the violin.

I can only come to the conclusion that this is a great band and I’m happy I got in touch with them! I hope to see them on stage one day and who knows, maybe together with Rastaban?

more info:

https://www.facebook.com/finvarramusic?fref=ts

http://www.finvarramusic.com/

they will play at this festival:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Summer-Darkness/135730476493936?fref=ts

and for those who don’t know Rastaban and Asynje:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/rastaban-aurora/?viaadmin=1

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/asynje/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/07/2013


 

Next reviews
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
A.A.A.K. • Buildingscapebeat XXV
BACKTRACK LANE • Black Truth & White Lies
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
TECHNOMANCER • System Failure
TZOLK'IN • The Sixth Sun
RASTABAN • Aurora
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS