tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/07/2013 : FINVARRA -

FINVARRA

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[90/100]   

Self-released
20/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It's their first cd and it's already a hit! Ok, it's not as party minded as Rastaban or Asynje, but still! To me it's a very emotional one, well worked out!

Their influences include Pentangle, Mediaeval Baebes, Steeleye Span, Dead can dance, Lunasa, Shantalla, Dervish and Malinky. Finvarra infuses Celtic folk with spicy oriental elements. These four troubadours are not afraid to experiment with new styles and instruments.

The first song 'The cliffs of Moher' (combined with Jethro Tull's Kelpie) has a very Irish influence (at least very Celtic): listen to the voice & the violins. It's a soft ballad, on the edge of traditional dancing tune from the Celts, but I’m not a pro, so correct me here if needed. 'The wind that shakes the barley' sounds like a mix between tsigane music and old school Celtic (nicely sung by Dieke). The tempo is a bit slower and the story of the song seems to be more important than dancing. A gypsy tune enchants 'Jovano Jovanko’, giving it a very mystic sound in the beginning and ending in a Gypsy party. The violin plays a very important role here. 'Dimna Juda' is a soft chant based on an old Macedonian song about a witch who eats young children and then builds her house with their bones. Dimna Juda is started by Gwen, and then Dieke joins in, followed by Patrick and Corné. 'The well below the valley' starts as a Gypsy minded song and changes into a more medieval song that makes you want to dance. Love the rhythm and the way the song is built up. 'Only our rivers run free' is sung in such a beautiful way by Gwen, it's almost unbelievable. The medieval and tsigane twist is simply great! The lyrics are true: only our rivers run free! 'Drink down the moon' also starts very slow, intimate and yet again an angel sings oh so fragile (love Gwen's voice). Love this song, for sure as the start gives me goose bumps. After a while the tempo rises and more instruments join the party. This song could be a great first song for a gig! I would describe it as a medieval ballad or even medieval dance (for sure when the violin joins again). 'Flatworld' also starts slowly, with a medieval twist and a nice flute played by guest musician Erica van Brenk of the bands Orfeo and RAMA. Once again more and more instruments jump in before the party starts, no vocals on this one. 'A poison tree' is again a slow one. I love the blending voice's: gives it a warm and full sound (here Dieke sings the lead vocals, with Gwen backing up). The acoustic guitar gives it a very intimate sound, the violin a very romantic touch. 'The battle of evermore' also combines both voices at their best. It feels very bittersweet, growing slowly and yet again after a while more and more instruments jump in and give the song a deeper and richer sound. Love the melancholy of this song. This one somehow has a retro '80s sound. Just can't catch the name of the band I’m thinking about. 'The blacksmith' is a great one, love the voice and the little drums on it, well aided by the violin.

I can only come to the conclusion that this is a great band and I’m happy I got in touch with them! I hope to see them on stage one day and who knows, maybe together with Rastaban?

more info:

https://www.facebook.com/finvarramusic?fref=ts

http://www.finvarramusic.com/

they will play at this festival:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Summer-Darkness/135730476493936?fref=ts

and for those who don’t know Rastaban and Asynje:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/rastaban-aurora/?viaadmin=1

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/asynje/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/07/2013


 

Next reviews
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
A.A.A.K. • Buildingscapebeat XXV
BACKTRACK LANE • Black Truth & White Lies
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
TECHNOMANCER • System Failure
TZOLK'IN • The Sixth Sun
RASTABAN • Aurora
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat