tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/07/2014 : EMPYRIUM - The Turn Of The Tides

EMPYRIUM

The Turn Of The Tides

MusicCD
AcousticNeofolkRock

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
31/07/2014, Ron SCHOONWATER

Its twelve years after their last studio record (“Weiland”) that EMPYRIUM returns with a new album. Inspired by the cycles of nature and life this album is mostly filled with tranquil songs, but always with surprising twists or an electric guitar solo. Like the majestic song that already appeared on the Prophecy sampler “Whom The Moon A Nightsong Sings”. This song, ’The Day Before The Fall’, starts quiet, but transforms in a bombastic (guitar) rock part.

The (dead) metal origin is also heard in ‘Dead Winter Sun’, in which Thomas Helm’s beautiful deep operatic voice meets the grunt of Schwadorf, and in the following stately ‘The Gutter Of This Spring’. This last mentioned song starts with the same elements as ‘Dead Winter Sun’, but ends in a guitar eruption. Also ‘With The Current Into Grey‘ is inspired by the rock element, but is probably the most ordinary song on this album. “The Turn Of The Tides” has however much more to offer than only the bombastic, opera meets rock. The extremely melancholic ‘We Are Alone’ is based on a piano/ keyboard piece and added with the voice of Thomas creates exactly the feeling expressed in the title of this song.

The last song ‘The Turn Of The Tides’ seems to be inspired by the early days of Antimatter (quiet melancholic song, atmospheric and based on guitar and, only when needed, drums). But let’s not forget the brilliant opener ’Saviour’. This song shows the strength and fragility of EMPYRIUM. A classic opera voice, bombastic parts and tranquil moments in a very well built song (and lovely lyrics). EMPYRIUM has evolved into an emotional direction we know so well from acts like Tenhi or, in the more pop version of, Sigur Ros. EMPYRIUM combines however (dark) folk and opera in a rock song structure and therefore has their own story to tell. 

Ron SCHOONWATER
31/07/2014


 

Next reviews
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2014, DAY 1 • Thunder in Cologne: Project Pitchfork, Front 242, Blutengel, The Klinik, Clan Of Xymox...
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2014, DAY 2 • Thunder in Cologne: Lacrimosa, Die Krupps, London After Midnight, Mono Inc., Corde Oblique...
TOBIAS FALK • Agent Hamilton - But not if it concerns your daughter
ALESTORM • Sunset on the Golden Age
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
K-BEREIT • A Forest EP
JOHN FORD • The grapes of wrath
CONTROLSTATE • The Delta Pack
JOHN HUGHES • Uncle Buck

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice