tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy

JAMES DEMONACO

The Purge: Anarchy

Movie
ActionHorror

[82/100]   

Universal Pictures
16/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Let's come straight to the point: The Purge: Anarchy is fantastic, or at least almost fantastic! And did you not read somewhere else that this sequel is pure rubbish? Right, you did, but anyone who claims that is either a curmudgeon or someone who abuses cinema by making a pseudo science of it.

Granted, we were surprised. The first part (2013) was perhaps an unexpected hit, but also the most disappointing hype of that year. The film was almost set in one (boring) location and despite the praise on various forums, The Purge was rather tedious. But it made a lot of money and afterwards director James DeMonaco had a much larger budget for his sequel and you notice that! 

DeMonaco has thrown away almost the entire scenario of the first film. The only thing left is The Purge. In 2023 the world looks completely different. In the United States the New Founding Fathers are in power and to bring down the crime rate, they have choosen one night in which everyone can kill whoever he or she wants without being punished. An ideal move, because it's only the scum who is on the streets during the purge, while the rich citizens hide in their converted bunker.

The sequel has become a very exciting cat and mouse game. This time it is not a wealthy family for whom the viewer has no pity, but he follows a loner (Frank Grillo) who is on a mission. During his journey he takes care of a mother and her teenage daughter and a quarreling couple.

You will never hear us say that James DeMonaco is a genius, but he nevertheless nicely managed to deliver one of the most exciting blockbusters of the year. The performances are standard, but the strange, eerie atmosphere works. Several reviewers have compared this sequel with the better work of John Carpenter and that is exactly our opinion too. We already said it: The Purge: Anarchy is fantastic!

Additional material:

Deleted scenes
Behind the Anarchy

Technical Specifications:

Running time : 103 '
Picture: 2.40: 1 - 1080p
Audio : French Dolby Digital 5.1 and English Dolby Digital 5.1

The Purge: Anarchy is released on DVD and Blu -ray. There is also a box available with also the first film from 2013.

Didier BECU
16/11/2014


NL

Laten we maar meteen met de deur in huis vallen: The Purge: Anarchy is fantastisch, of toch bijna fantastisch! En had je niet ergens anders gelezen dat deze sequel pure rommel is? Juist, dat klopt, maar wie dat beweert is ofwel een zuurpruim of nog erger: iemand die cinema misbruikt om er een pseudowetenschap van te maken.

Toegegeven, we stonden er zelfs een beetje versteld van. Het eerste deel uit 2013 was misschien wel een onverwachte hit, tegelijkertijd ook de meest ontgoochelende hype van dat jaar. De film speelde zich in één huis af en ondanks de lovende woorden op diverse forums, was The Purge eerder vervelend. Maar het bracht wel een aardige stuiver op waardoor regisseur James DeMonaco over een veel groter budget beschikte voor zijn vervolg en dat merk je ieder moment.

DeMonaco heeft bijna het volledige scenario van de eersteling achter zich gelaten. Het enige wat overblijft is The Purge zelf. In 2023 ziet de wereld er helemaal anders uit. De macht in de Verenigde Staten is in handen van de New Founding Fathers. Om de misdaadcijfers naar beneden te halen hebben de machthebbers een nacht uitgekozen waarin iedereen naar hartenlust mag moorden zonder dat hij of zij daa voor wordt gestraft. Een ideale zet, want het is toch alleen maar het uitschot dat tijdens de zuiveringsnacht op straat loopt, terwijl de rijke burgers veilig (nou ja) in hun omgebouwde bunker schuilen.

De sequel is een ontzettend spannend kat-en-muis-spel geworden. Deze keer gaat het niet om een rijke familie waarmee de kijker sowieso geen medelijden heeft, maar volgen we een eenzaat (Frank Grillo) die een missie uitvoert. Wat precies komen we pas op het einde te weten, en uiteraard verklappen we niets. Tijdens zijn tocht ontfermt hij zich over een moeder met haar tienerdochter en een kibbelend koppeltje.

Je zal ons nooit horen beweren dat James DeMonaco een genie is, maar hij is er toch wel mooi in geslaagd om één van de spannendste blockbusters van het jaar af te leveren. De vertolkingen zijn standaard (lees niet uitmuntend, maar dus wel goed), maar het is vooral dat vreemde, angstaanjagende sfeertje dat The Purge: Anarchy boven de middelmaat uittilt. Verschillende recensenten hebben deze sequel met het betere John Carpenter-werk vergeleken en wat ons betreft is dat de nagel op de kop. We zegden het al: The Purge: Anarchy is fantastisch!

 Extra Materiaal:

Deleted scenes
Behind the Anarchy

Technische specificaties:

Speelduur: 103′
Beeld: 2.40:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Frans Dolby Digital 5.1 & Engels Dolby Digital 5.1

The Purge: Anarchy is uitgebracht op dvd en Blu-ray. Er is ook een box beschikbaar met daarin ook de eerste film uit 2013.

Didier BECU
16/11/2014


16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy 16/11/2014 : JAMES DEMONACO - The Purge: Anarchy

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil