tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/12/2012 : LEGEND - Fearless

LEGEND

Fearless

MusicCD
AmbientDark AmbientDoomElectro
Artoffact
29/12/2012, Didier BECU

Thanks to the electronic revolution, we receive around 30 CD's per day in our mailbox. Some might hail the fact that through this technological advancement everybody gets heard, which is a lie anyway, considering the truth is that we’re drowning in the huge heap of music on offer.

Well, one morning I got a mail from my friend Jacek, who runs the very fine Artoffact-label (you owe me money for writing this!), asking me whether I had had the chance to hear the latest CD by Legend as, according to him, this was something special. If everyone thinks the record one releases is something special, why else release it, n'est-ce pas?

Nah good, Legend is something special. They're from Iceland and tell us this: how many electronic-industrial projects do you know from Iceland which draw such comparisons to Depeche Mode, NIN, and Project Pitchfork as they do?

Also, the band's front man, Krummi played in a punk-rock act Minus, which released albums on Sony and One Little Indian.

But Legend is the new beast and the music is difficult to describe. Some songs sound like Mogwai’s songs being performed by Project Pitchfork, if you could imagine that. You probably don't know what I mean, but the atmosphere of this electronic album holds a strange danger. Sometimes it's noisy as hell (think Skinny Puppy-ish, even), but then you hear a melodic track like “The City” that you can whistle to while showering. Not that we're taking showers with music from Legend on, but we could. Anyway, this one’s a good electronic tip!

Didier BECU
29/12/2012


 

Next reviews
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
2012 REVIEW • Chris Konings: Organic in the best albums of the year
• On The Road
!DISTAIN • 20th Anniversary
2012 REVIEW • Phil Blackmarquis: Full review with comments and links
2012 REVIEW • Peter Mastbooms (BORG): And the winners are.....
AI WEIWEI • Never Sorry
PORTION CONTROL • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
2012 REVIEW • Xavier Marquis: Aesthetic Perfection No. 1 in 2012
2012 REVIEW • Ward De Prins: InfraWarrior's 'Naiades' album of the year

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures