tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/12/2012 : LEGEND - Fearless

LEGEND

Fearless

MusicCD
AmbientDark AmbientDoomElectro
Artoffact
29/12/2012, Didier BECU

Thanks to the electronic revolution, we receive around 30 CD's per day in our mailbox. Some might hail the fact that through this technological advancement everybody gets heard, which is a lie anyway, considering the truth is that we’re drowning in the huge heap of music on offer.

Well, one morning I got a mail from my friend Jacek, who runs the very fine Artoffact-label (you owe me money for writing this!), asking me whether I had had the chance to hear the latest CD by Legend as, according to him, this was something special. If everyone thinks the record one releases is something special, why else release it, n'est-ce pas?

Nah good, Legend is something special. They're from Iceland and tell us this: how many electronic-industrial projects do you know from Iceland which draw such comparisons to Depeche Mode, NIN, and Project Pitchfork as they do?

Also, the band's front man, Krummi played in a punk-rock act Minus, which released albums on Sony and One Little Indian.

But Legend is the new beast and the music is difficult to describe. Some songs sound like Mogwai’s songs being performed by Project Pitchfork, if you could imagine that. You probably don't know what I mean, but the atmosphere of this electronic album holds a strange danger. Sometimes it's noisy as hell (think Skinny Puppy-ish, even), but then you hear a melodic track like “The City” that you can whistle to while showering. Not that we're taking showers with music from Legend on, but we could. Anyway, this one’s a good electronic tip!

Didier BECU
29/12/2012


 

Next reviews
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
2012 REVIEW • Chris Konings: Organic in the best albums of the year
• On The Road
!DISTAIN • 20th Anniversary
2012 REVIEW • Phil Blackmarquis: Full review with comments and links
2012 REVIEW • Peter Mastbooms (BORG): And the winners are.....
AI WEIWEI • Never Sorry
PORTION CONTROL • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
2012 REVIEW • Xavier Marquis: Aesthetic Perfection No. 1 in 2012
2012 REVIEW • Ward De Prins: InfraWarrior's 'Naiades' album of the year

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains