tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : THE SILICON ARTIST - Windows On The World

THE SILICON ARTIST

Windows On The World

MusicCD
Analogue SynthMinimal

[65/100]   

Other Voices Records
26/07/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The Silicon Scientist is Stefan Bornhorst from Northern Germany, and you will hear that he definitely has a deep fascination for analogue synthesizers and multi-layered melancholic and melodic electro-pop. In the early 90's, he started composing and recording many tracks under the name of Dreams Encoded. Also, Stefan was performing in The Convent in which he played synths and occasionally bass and guitar both live and in the studio. In 2003, Stefan founded the well-known German electro-pop-NDW group Sonnenbrandt together with The Convent's guitar player Jojo Brandt and Jojo's wife Frau Sonne. Their debut album 'Gestern' was released in 2008 with great response and praise. He then decides to go on a more melancholic path of electro-pop, recorded solely with analogue synthesizers and drum machines (and occasional sparse real bass and guitars). 'Windows on the World' was originally released as a vinyl LP+7" on Anna Logue Records in 2006, followed by The Silicon Scientist's second album 'Poly' in 2009. 'Windows on the World' now sees its CD re-issue, digitally remastered by Stefan himself in 2011/12 and including an exclusive remix of 'Home' and the ending track 'Good-bye to Frog-eyes' from the 'Bookmarks' CDr that accompanied the first 200 copies of the original vinyl release.

So much about news about the band. If I listen closer to the music: I must say it took me 11 songs before something caught my ears attention. Song number 11 is 'Oceans of Green' and the 'Lost City' seems to be the best song, but only because it reminds me of Diskonnekted and those who know this bands will surely agree. 'Home' goes a bit further on that road, like a slow train before someone figured out how the breaks work.

I'm not really a fan of the first 10 songs because they seem to be so retro and even outdated, that only fans of this sound can love it and most of them must be old enough to know about the 80's. So I warned you all...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/07/2012


 

Next reviews
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Sing My Body Electric
INDIANS IN MOSCOW • Indians in Moscow
ELEVEN POND • Bas Relief
SPEAR OF DESTINY • The Singles Collection
THE CRÜXSHADOWS • 21 july 2012 at The Steeple, Waregem - Belgium! 'The Dark Halo' - Tour 2012 Supported by: DISKONNEKTED, A THOUSAND SOCIETIES
• Review of the Amphi festival 2012 in Cologne (Day ONE)
ABSENT MUSIC • Absent EP
LARVAE • Exit Strategy
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
CONTRA • Red Squirrel Black Squirrel

 

Same combination of genres: ANALOGUE SYNTH + MINIMAL
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DUMMES ZEUX KANN MAN VIEL REDEN
COSMETICS • Olympia... Plus
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland