tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : THE SILICON ARTIST - Windows On The World

THE SILICON ARTIST

Windows On The World

MusicCD
Analogue SynthMinimal

[65/100]   

Other Voices Records
26/07/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The Silicon Scientist is Stefan Bornhorst from Northern Germany, and you will hear that he definitely has a deep fascination for analogue synthesizers and multi-layered melancholic and melodic electro-pop. In the early 90's, he started composing and recording many tracks under the name of Dreams Encoded. Also, Stefan was performing in The Convent in which he played synths and occasionally bass and guitar both live and in the studio. In 2003, Stefan founded the well-known German electro-pop-NDW group Sonnenbrandt together with The Convent's guitar player Jojo Brandt and Jojo's wife Frau Sonne. Their debut album 'Gestern' was released in 2008 with great response and praise. He then decides to go on a more melancholic path of electro-pop, recorded solely with analogue synthesizers and drum machines (and occasional sparse real bass and guitars). 'Windows on the World' was originally released as a vinyl LP+7" on Anna Logue Records in 2006, followed by The Silicon Scientist's second album 'Poly' in 2009. 'Windows on the World' now sees its CD re-issue, digitally remastered by Stefan himself in 2011/12 and including an exclusive remix of 'Home' and the ending track 'Good-bye to Frog-eyes' from the 'Bookmarks' CDr that accompanied the first 200 copies of the original vinyl release.

So much about news about the band. If I listen closer to the music: I must say it took me 11 songs before something caught my ears attention. Song number 11 is 'Oceans of Green' and the 'Lost City' seems to be the best song, but only because it reminds me of Diskonnekted and those who know this bands will surely agree. 'Home' goes a bit further on that road, like a slow train before someone figured out how the breaks work.

I'm not really a fan of the first 10 songs because they seem to be so retro and even outdated, that only fans of this sound can love it and most of them must be old enough to know about the 80's. So I warned you all...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/07/2012


 

Next reviews
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Sing My Body Electric
INDIANS IN MOSCOW • Indians in Moscow
ELEVEN POND • Bas Relief
SPEAR OF DESTINY • The Singles Collection
THE CRÜXSHADOWS • 21 july 2012 at The Steeple, Waregem - Belgium! 'The Dark Halo' - Tour 2012 Supported by: DISKONNEKTED, A THOUSAND SOCIETIES
• Review of the Amphi festival 2012 in Cologne (Day ONE)
ABSENT MUSIC • Absent EP
LARVAE • Exit Strategy
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
CONTRA • Red Squirrel Black Squirrel

 

Same combination of genres: ANALOGUE SYNTH + MINIMAL
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DUMMES ZEUX KANN MAN VIEL REDEN
COSMETICS • Olympia... Plus
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body