tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : THE SILICON ARTIST - Windows On The World

THE SILICON ARTIST

Windows On The World

MusicCD
Analogue SynthMinimal

[65/100]   

Other Voices Records
26/07/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The Silicon Scientist is Stefan Bornhorst from Northern Germany, and you will hear that he definitely has a deep fascination for analogue synthesizers and multi-layered melancholic and melodic electro-pop. In the early 90's, he started composing and recording many tracks under the name of Dreams Encoded. Also, Stefan was performing in The Convent in which he played synths and occasionally bass and guitar both live and in the studio. In 2003, Stefan founded the well-known German electro-pop-NDW group Sonnenbrandt together with The Convent's guitar player Jojo Brandt and Jojo's wife Frau Sonne. Their debut album 'Gestern' was released in 2008 with great response and praise. He then decides to go on a more melancholic path of electro-pop, recorded solely with analogue synthesizers and drum machines (and occasional sparse real bass and guitars). 'Windows on the World' was originally released as a vinyl LP+7" on Anna Logue Records in 2006, followed by The Silicon Scientist's second album 'Poly' in 2009. 'Windows on the World' now sees its CD re-issue, digitally remastered by Stefan himself in 2011/12 and including an exclusive remix of 'Home' and the ending track 'Good-bye to Frog-eyes' from the 'Bookmarks' CDr that accompanied the first 200 copies of the original vinyl release.

So much about news about the band. If I listen closer to the music: I must say it took me 11 songs before something caught my ears attention. Song number 11 is 'Oceans of Green' and the 'Lost City' seems to be the best song, but only because it reminds me of Diskonnekted and those who know this bands will surely agree. 'Home' goes a bit further on that road, like a slow train before someone figured out how the breaks work.

I'm not really a fan of the first 10 songs because they seem to be so retro and even outdated, that only fans of this sound can love it and most of them must be old enough to know about the 80's. So I warned you all...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/07/2012


 

Next reviews
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Sing My Body Electric
INDIANS IN MOSCOW • Indians in Moscow
ELEVEN POND • Bas Relief
SPEAR OF DESTINY • The Singles Collection
THE CRÜXSHADOWS • 21 july 2012 at The Steeple, Waregem - Belgium! 'The Dark Halo' - Tour 2012 Supported by: DISKONNEKTED, A THOUSAND SOCIETIES
• Review of the Amphi festival 2012 in Cologne (Day ONE)
ABSENT MUSIC • Absent EP
LARVAE • Exit Strategy
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
CONTRA • Red Squirrel Black Squirrel

 

Same combination of genres: ANALOGUE SYNTH + MINIMAL
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DUMMES ZEUX KANN MAN VIEL REDEN
COSMETICS • Olympia... Plus
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders