tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/07/2012 : THE SILICON ARTIST - Windows On The World

THE SILICON ARTIST

Windows On The World

MusicCD
Analogue SynthMinimal

[65/100]   

Other Voices Records
26/07/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The Silicon Scientist is Stefan Bornhorst from Northern Germany, and you will hear that he definitely has a deep fascination for analogue synthesizers and multi-layered melancholic and melodic electro-pop. In the early 90's, he started composing and recording many tracks under the name of Dreams Encoded. Also, Stefan was performing in The Convent in which he played synths and occasionally bass and guitar both live and in the studio. In 2003, Stefan founded the well-known German electro-pop-NDW group Sonnenbrandt together with The Convent's guitar player Jojo Brandt and Jojo's wife Frau Sonne. Their debut album 'Gestern' was released in 2008 with great response and praise. He then decides to go on a more melancholic path of electro-pop, recorded solely with analogue synthesizers and drum machines (and occasional sparse real bass and guitars). 'Windows on the World' was originally released as a vinyl LP+7" on Anna Logue Records in 2006, followed by The Silicon Scientist's second album 'Poly' in 2009. 'Windows on the World' now sees its CD re-issue, digitally remastered by Stefan himself in 2011/12 and including an exclusive remix of 'Home' and the ending track 'Good-bye to Frog-eyes' from the 'Bookmarks' CDr that accompanied the first 200 copies of the original vinyl release.

So much about news about the band. If I listen closer to the music: I must say it took me 11 songs before something caught my ears attention. Song number 11 is 'Oceans of Green' and the 'Lost City' seems to be the best song, but only because it reminds me of Diskonnekted and those who know this bands will surely agree. 'Home' goes a bit further on that road, like a slow train before someone figured out how the breaks work.

I'm not really a fan of the first 10 songs because they seem to be so retro and even outdated, that only fans of this sound can love it and most of them must be old enough to know about the 80's. So I warned you all...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/07/2012


 

Next reviews
TOBIAS BERNSTRUP • Sing My Body Electric
INDIANS IN MOSCOW • Indians in Moscow
ELEVEN POND • Bas Relief
SPEAR OF DESTINY • The Singles Collection
THE CRÜXSHADOWS • 21 july 2012 at The Steeple, Waregem - Belgium! 'The Dark Halo' - Tour 2012 Supported by: DISKONNEKTED, A THOUSAND SOCIETIES
• Review of the Amphi festival 2012 in Cologne (Day ONE)
ABSENT MUSIC • Absent EP
LARVAE • Exit Strategy
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
CONTRA • Red Squirrel Black Squirrel

 

Same combination of genres: ANALOGUE SYNTH + MINIMAL
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DUMMES ZEUX KANN MAN VIEL REDEN
COSMETICS • Olympia... Plus
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures