tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/02/2015 : ALISON MOYET - Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

ALISON MOYET

Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

Concert
ElectroElectro PopSynthpop

[90/100]   
23/02/2015, Fred GADGET

After having missed her appearance at the Suiker Rock festival (2014, Tienen, B) and hearing nothing but good things about her performance from some friend, we didn’t hesitate to buy tickets when an additional show was announced at the renowned Arenberg theatre in Antwerp. This show was supposed to happen on November 11th 2014, but was cancelled because of illness were for Alison Moyet apologized personally on the social media. Luckily our disappointment didn’t last long as an new date in 2015 was announced soon after. A bit to our surprise the sold-out concert took place in the seated theatre of the Arenburg complex. So we had to abandon our plan of dancing our way to the front row, but that was compensated with the comfortable benefit of the typical red velvet theatre seats and the magnificent stage-overview we got from the balcony. Shortly after all the seats were taken, the stage and venue went pitch-black and apparently this was already exciting enough forthe crowd to start cheering and applauding…

It was clear that this would be an very atmospheric night! Meanwhile and in the total darkness Alison Moyet and her band took their stage positions. The spotlights went on and a trio emerged … Alison, not surprisingly positioned in the center, flanked on both sides by the two musicians, standing behind their battery of electronics and keyboards on their own separate stage risers. Of course we were all there to hear and enjoy the music she wrote during her long lasting career, but nobody could deny the fact that Alison Moyet went through a remarkable physical transformation. The leading lady, dressed in black, looked hotter and sexier then ever before!

After a short but warm welcome speech, in which she announced and explained her ‘comeback’ in the ‘electro music scene, they kicked-off with ‘Horizon Flame’, a track taken of her latest album ’The Minutes’. Alison’s heavenly and powerful bright voice, the perfect electronic arrangements, the clear and dynamic sound and minimalistic but effective light show caught and mesmerized us from the first second. Those, and I think we can say the majority, who hoped to hear some of her early work which she wrote with her first band Yazoo and bandmate Vince Clark, didn’t have to wait long … Not even waiting the massive applause to fade out, Alison told us she was only 16 years old when she wrote the next song ‘Winter Kills’ (taken from the first Yazoo album, ‘Upstairs At Eric’s’ released in 1982). Needless to say the audience went bezerk. However, after a couple of seconds, the song was abruptly stopped by the lady herself… ‘Sorry, I made a mistake, and if I make a mistake it irritates me so much that I must start it again from the beginning’. And so they did. Something that would happen once more further down the night.

During the show Alison Moyet also revealed some other talents we were not aware off … One of those new talents we he had to pleasure to discovered were inviting dancemoves she displayed during the instrumental passages of her songs. Proving the younger generation female singers that you don’t need to show a half nipple or twirk the microphone stand to be cool and sexy. The other talent is her predisposition for spoken word or even stand-up comedy. Although constantly apologizing for her verbal avalanche in between songs, she couldn’t resist it and nobody could care less because everybody seemed to enjoy the warm, funny and openhearted artist. During one of those waterfall of words she told us she wouldn’t make the same mistake as she did last year when she played in Tienen (A flemish speaking region of Belgium). When she proudly told the audience she can speak French and that it was OK to address her in French. To make up for that, she sarcastically thanked ‘the right-wing mayor of Antwerp’ of allowing her to play in his city in this nice theatre. His voters laughed out loud …. Sarcasm can be such a nice thing, she must have thought.

The set continued like it started, strong, enchanting and impressive, going through her complete back catalogue. The once so comfortable seats quickly started to feel more like straightjackets and when the first notes of Yazoo’s 80’s monster hit ‘Situation’ blasted out the speakers many freed themselves and jumped-up and started dancing. One (of the many) nice surprises was the inclusion of the clubby ‘Waiting’, a joint venture single recorded with another respected electro artists My Robot Friend. To protect the crowd fainting and the venue from overheating, she continued with her entertaining spoken words intermezzo’s. Like when she explained us about how and where she got the inspiration to write the song‚‘Filigree’ (from her album‚‘The Minutes’‘, released 2013). When she started telling:‚‘I was in Amsterdam …’ some people in the audience (who apparently seldom leave their couch) interrupted her with the typical‚‘Woohoo!’ cheer, she skillfully and wittily added …‚‘Yes, it was that kind of weekend!’. Of course even more hilarity filled the venue.

Unexpectedly, I admit, time flew unnoticed by and before we knew it, Alison Moyet thanked us all for coming out to her show and the threesome disappeared again in the darkness. In fact, time flew by so fast that we almost panicked when we looked a the time. OMG, there was almost no more time left and she didn’t play her dance floor filler‚‘Don’t Go’ !!!??? But as the tradition has it, while receiving a standing ovation from the whole venue, the re-entered the stage for some encores. They even had the audience decide if they wanted to hear their version of‚‘Whispering Your Name’ (taken from the album Essex, 1993), originally written by the American singer-songwriter Jules Shear. As expected, nobody dared to say no to this sympathetic lady, who by this time had enchanted completely. Even her premature apologies that it might not all be sung in the right key, was obsolete to us. Next, we got magisterial versions of ‘All Cried Out‘, taken from Alison Moyet debut solo album (1984) and the highly anticipated ‘Don’t Go’. The roof went off and the nice cosy theatre turned in a steamy hot club! 
In short, a night to remember and one I would gladly relive! The sooner, the better!

Fred GADGET
23/02/2015



 

Next reviews
THE CHARLATANS • Modern Nature
ALISON MOYET • The Minutes Tour (Antwerpen, Arenbergschouwburg, 21/02/2015)
SAINT SAVIOUR • In the Seams
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
JORAM LURSEN • Bloedlink
CRACKER • Berkeley to Bakersfield:
WALTER HILL • The Driver
STOCKHOLM MONSTERS • All At Once
ROBERT STROMBERG • Maleficent
PHILIP GLASS • Akhnaten (Antwerpen, Vlaamse Opera, 17/02/2015)

 

Other reviews from ALISON MOYET
ALISON MOYET • The Minutes Tour (Antwerpen, Arenbergschouwburg, 21/02/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
ASHBURY HEIGHTS • The Looking Glass Society

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
08
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy