tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/02/2015 : ALISON MOYET - Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

ALISON MOYET

Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

Concert
ElectroElectro PopSynthpop

[90/100]   
23/02/2015, Fred GADGET

After having missed her appearance at the Suiker Rock festival (2014, Tienen, B) and hearing nothing but good things about her performance from some friend, we didn’t hesitate to buy tickets when an additional show was announced at the renowned Arenberg theatre in Antwerp. This show was supposed to happen on November 11th 2014, but was cancelled because of illness were for Alison Moyet apologized personally on the social media. Luckily our disappointment didn’t last long as an new date in 2015 was announced soon after. A bit to our surprise the sold-out concert took place in the seated theatre of the Arenburg complex. So we had to abandon our plan of dancing our way to the front row, but that was compensated with the comfortable benefit of the typical red velvet theatre seats and the magnificent stage-overview we got from the balcony. Shortly after all the seats were taken, the stage and venue went pitch-black and apparently this was already exciting enough forthe crowd to start cheering and applauding…

It was clear that this would be an very atmospheric night! Meanwhile and in the total darkness Alison Moyet and her band took their stage positions. The spotlights went on and a trio emerged … Alison, not surprisingly positioned in the center, flanked on both sides by the two musicians, standing behind their battery of electronics and keyboards on their own separate stage risers. Of course we were all there to hear and enjoy the music she wrote during her long lasting career, but nobody could deny the fact that Alison Moyet went through a remarkable physical transformation. The leading lady, dressed in black, looked hotter and sexier then ever before!

After a short but warm welcome speech, in which she announced and explained her ‘comeback’ in the ‘electro music scene, they kicked-off with ‘Horizon Flame’, a track taken of her latest album ’The Minutes’. Alison’s heavenly and powerful bright voice, the perfect electronic arrangements, the clear and dynamic sound and minimalistic but effective light show caught and mesmerized us from the first second. Those, and I think we can say the majority, who hoped to hear some of her early work which she wrote with her first band Yazoo and bandmate Vince Clark, didn’t have to wait long … Not even waiting the massive applause to fade out, Alison told us she was only 16 years old when she wrote the next song ‘Winter Kills’ (taken from the first Yazoo album, ‘Upstairs At Eric’s’ released in 1982). Needless to say the audience went bezerk. However, after a couple of seconds, the song was abruptly stopped by the lady herself… ‘Sorry, I made a mistake, and if I make a mistake it irritates me so much that I must start it again from the beginning’. And so they did. Something that would happen once more further down the night.

During the show Alison Moyet also revealed some other talents we were not aware off … One of those new talents we he had to pleasure to discovered were inviting dancemoves she displayed during the instrumental passages of her songs. Proving the younger generation female singers that you don’t need to show a half nipple or twirk the microphone stand to be cool and sexy. The other talent is her predisposition for spoken word or even stand-up comedy. Although constantly apologizing for her verbal avalanche in between songs, she couldn’t resist it and nobody could care less because everybody seemed to enjoy the warm, funny and openhearted artist. During one of those waterfall of words she told us she wouldn’t make the same mistake as she did last year when she played in Tienen (A flemish speaking region of Belgium). When she proudly told the audience she can speak French and that it was OK to address her in French. To make up for that, she sarcastically thanked ‘the right-wing mayor of Antwerp’ of allowing her to play in his city in this nice theatre. His voters laughed out loud …. Sarcasm can be such a nice thing, she must have thought.

The set continued like it started, strong, enchanting and impressive, going through her complete back catalogue. The once so comfortable seats quickly started to feel more like straightjackets and when the first notes of Yazoo’s 80’s monster hit ‘Situation’ blasted out the speakers many freed themselves and jumped-up and started dancing. One (of the many) nice surprises was the inclusion of the clubby ‘Waiting’, a joint venture single recorded with another respected electro artists My Robot Friend. To protect the crowd fainting and the venue from overheating, she continued with her entertaining spoken words intermezzo’s. Like when she explained us about how and where she got the inspiration to write the song‚‘Filigree’ (from her album‚‘The Minutes’‘, released 2013). When she started telling:‚‘I was in Amsterdam …’ some people in the audience (who apparently seldom leave their couch) interrupted her with the typical‚‘Woohoo!’ cheer, she skillfully and wittily added …‚‘Yes, it was that kind of weekend!’. Of course even more hilarity filled the venue.

Unexpectedly, I admit, time flew unnoticed by and before we knew it, Alison Moyet thanked us all for coming out to her show and the threesome disappeared again in the darkness. In fact, time flew by so fast that we almost panicked when we looked a the time. OMG, there was almost no more time left and she didn’t play her dance floor filler‚‘Don’t Go’ !!!??? But as the tradition has it, while receiving a standing ovation from the whole venue, the re-entered the stage for some encores. They even had the audience decide if they wanted to hear their version of‚‘Whispering Your Name’ (taken from the album Essex, 1993), originally written by the American singer-songwriter Jules Shear. As expected, nobody dared to say no to this sympathetic lady, who by this time had enchanted completely. Even her premature apologies that it might not all be sung in the right key, was obsolete to us. Next, we got magisterial versions of ‘All Cried Out‘, taken from Alison Moyet debut solo album (1984) and the highly anticipated ‘Don’t Go’. The roof went off and the nice cosy theatre turned in a steamy hot club! 
In short, a night to remember and one I would gladly relive! The sooner, the better!

Fred GADGET
23/02/2015



 

Next reviews
THE CHARLATANS • Modern Nature
ALISON MOYET • The Minutes Tour (Antwerpen, Arenbergschouwburg, 21/02/2015)
SAINT SAVIOUR • In the Seams
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
JORAM LURSEN • Bloedlink
CRACKER • Berkeley to Bakersfield:
WALTER HILL • The Driver
STOCKHOLM MONSTERS • All At Once
ROBERT STROMBERG • Maleficent
PHILIP GLASS • Akhnaten (Antwerpen, Vlaamse Opera, 17/02/2015)

 

Other reviews from ALISON MOYET
ALISON MOYET • The Minutes Tour (Antwerpen, Arenbergschouwburg, 21/02/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
ASHBURY HEIGHTS • The Looking Glass Society

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing