tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2012 : UNDERHILL - Silent Siren

UNDERHILL

Silent Siren

MusicCD
DubstepGothicTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
30/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Enough dubstep? Well this brand new UK band called Underhill is a weird mix of a few genres you might not find often on this site, ya know... genres like hiphop, dubstep, trip hop... But there's also a fair share of gothic, neoclassical vocals by Martina Astner (Therion, Dreams Of Sanity). On further inspection, it looks like a new superband, Tim Eliot is better known as drum n bass legend Current Value, Ivan Shopov we know from Balkansky and Dean Rodell hooked up with Tim Eliot to form Machinecode, making a great first album called "Environments"...

And this... My oh my this is like cotton candy melting on your tongue, but then in your ears! And I don't mean something sticky like Genesis P-Orridge kinda likes it... Absolutely beautiful, haunting vocals, spooky and heavy triphop, amazing electronic effects in abundance... Sometimes it's real gritty, dark hiphop with stonecold police radiotraffic, I'm talking about "Law Enforcement", check it out on Spotify, it's like the good old Massive Attack hooked up with Death Grips... Guillotiiiiiiine.... HAH !!

"Civil Lies" is another great song, heavy, almost industrial-like beats and breaks, the freezing voice of an angel and an intense, critical atmosphere is created. Most songs are also very accessible, especially "Blind" and "Hiding The Light" could work perfectly on national radio because of their Massive Attack/Tricky sound. But then again, how often do we hear those bands...

After "Law Enforcement", "Silent Siren" would have been a great ending track, a very gloomy and introspective cityscape about the ancient rules of life and death. "Podgorna" is a pretty good experimental, loopy trip, another good way to end an album.

Too bad it's not the end, "Creator" is screamy dubhop full of techno bleeps and theatrical male and female vocals. "Rivers Of Hades" is the same, without the bleeps but with guitars, they don't match either... They felt the need to add some pacy drum n bass on "Solace", another mistake... And to fill the entire 80 minutes you get three remixes by Balkansky, The Sect and Bong-Ra. Balkansky changes "Blind" into a cut down, downtempo version, I prefer the original... The Sect brings more out of place drum n bass, Bong-Ra does a good job, raw as usual, fucked up and chopped up beats that work wonders with Martina's voice. Too bad the previous five songs are filler and no killer.

Ten songs is more then enough and then "Silent Siren" would have been a contender for album of the year for me, but I have to take everything in account... Anyway, great stuff guys and please don't go to a major label like Death Grips did, it kills the creativity!!!

Ad Noiseam

Underhill

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2012


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Symphonies from the abyss
STEREO SIN • Infektion Mensch
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
BALKANSKY & LOOP STEPWALKER • Adhesion
MATTA & NIVEAU ZERO • Riot / Be Real 12'
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout