tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2012 : UNDERHILL - Silent Siren

UNDERHILL

Silent Siren

MusicCD
DubstepGothicTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
30/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Enough dubstep? Well this brand new UK band called Underhill is a weird mix of a few genres you might not find often on this site, ya know... genres like hiphop, dubstep, trip hop... But there's also a fair share of gothic, neoclassical vocals by Martina Astner (Therion, Dreams Of Sanity). On further inspection, it looks like a new superband, Tim Eliot is better known as drum n bass legend Current Value, Ivan Shopov we know from Balkansky and Dean Rodell hooked up with Tim Eliot to form Machinecode, making a great first album called "Environments"...

And this... My oh my this is like cotton candy melting on your tongue, but then in your ears! And I don't mean something sticky like Genesis P-Orridge kinda likes it... Absolutely beautiful, haunting vocals, spooky and heavy triphop, amazing electronic effects in abundance... Sometimes it's real gritty, dark hiphop with stonecold police radiotraffic, I'm talking about "Law Enforcement", check it out on Spotify, it's like the good old Massive Attack hooked up with Death Grips... Guillotiiiiiiine.... HAH !!

"Civil Lies" is another great song, heavy, almost industrial-like beats and breaks, the freezing voice of an angel and an intense, critical atmosphere is created. Most songs are also very accessible, especially "Blind" and "Hiding The Light" could work perfectly on national radio because of their Massive Attack/Tricky sound. But then again, how often do we hear those bands...

After "Law Enforcement", "Silent Siren" would have been a great ending track, a very gloomy and introspective cityscape about the ancient rules of life and death. "Podgorna" is a pretty good experimental, loopy trip, another good way to end an album.

Too bad it's not the end, "Creator" is screamy dubhop full of techno bleeps and theatrical male and female vocals. "Rivers Of Hades" is the same, without the bleeps but with guitars, they don't match either... They felt the need to add some pacy drum n bass on "Solace", another mistake... And to fill the entire 80 minutes you get three remixes by Balkansky, The Sect and Bong-Ra. Balkansky changes "Blind" into a cut down, downtempo version, I prefer the original... The Sect brings more out of place drum n bass, Bong-Ra does a good job, raw as usual, fucked up and chopped up beats that work wonders with Martina's voice. Too bad the previous five songs are filler and no killer.

Ten songs is more then enough and then "Silent Siren" would have been a contender for album of the year for me, but I have to take everything in account... Anyway, great stuff guys and please don't go to a major label like Death Grips did, it kills the creativity!!!

Ad Noiseam

Underhill

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2012


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Symphonies from the abyss
STEREO SIN • Infektion Mensch
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
BALKANSKY & LOOP STEPWALKER • Adhesion
MATTA & NIVEAU ZERO • Riot / Be Real 12'
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide