tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2012 : UNDERHILL - Silent Siren

UNDERHILL

Silent Siren

MusicCD
DubstepGothicTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
30/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Enough dubstep? Well this brand new UK band called Underhill is a weird mix of a few genres you might not find often on this site, ya know... genres like hiphop, dubstep, trip hop... But there's also a fair share of gothic, neoclassical vocals by Martina Astner (Therion, Dreams Of Sanity). On further inspection, it looks like a new superband, Tim Eliot is better known as drum n bass legend Current Value, Ivan Shopov we know from Balkansky and Dean Rodell hooked up with Tim Eliot to form Machinecode, making a great first album called "Environments"...

And this... My oh my this is like cotton candy melting on your tongue, but then in your ears! And I don't mean something sticky like Genesis P-Orridge kinda likes it... Absolutely beautiful, haunting vocals, spooky and heavy triphop, amazing electronic effects in abundance... Sometimes it's real gritty, dark hiphop with stonecold police radiotraffic, I'm talking about "Law Enforcement", check it out on Spotify, it's like the good old Massive Attack hooked up with Death Grips... Guillotiiiiiiine.... HAH !!

"Civil Lies" is another great song, heavy, almost industrial-like beats and breaks, the freezing voice of an angel and an intense, critical atmosphere is created. Most songs are also very accessible, especially "Blind" and "Hiding The Light" could work perfectly on national radio because of their Massive Attack/Tricky sound. But then again, how often do we hear those bands...

After "Law Enforcement", "Silent Siren" would have been a great ending track, a very gloomy and introspective cityscape about the ancient rules of life and death. "Podgorna" is a pretty good experimental, loopy trip, another good way to end an album.

Too bad it's not the end, "Creator" is screamy dubhop full of techno bleeps and theatrical male and female vocals. "Rivers Of Hades" is the same, without the bleeps but with guitars, they don't match either... They felt the need to add some pacy drum n bass on "Solace", another mistake... And to fill the entire 80 minutes you get three remixes by Balkansky, The Sect and Bong-Ra. Balkansky changes "Blind" into a cut down, downtempo version, I prefer the original... The Sect brings more out of place drum n bass, Bong-Ra does a good job, raw as usual, fucked up and chopped up beats that work wonders with Martina's voice. Too bad the previous five songs are filler and no killer.

Ten songs is more then enough and then "Silent Siren" would have been a contender for album of the year for me, but I have to take everything in account... Anyway, great stuff guys and please don't go to a major label like Death Grips did, it kills the creativity!!!

Ad Noiseam

Underhill

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2012


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Symphonies from the abyss
STEREO SIN • Infektion Mensch
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
BALKANSKY & LOOP STEPWALKER • Adhesion
MATTA & NIVEAU ZERO • Riot / Be Real 12'
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now