tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2012 : TONIKOM - Found And Lost

TONIKOM

Found And Lost

MusicCD
BreakbeatDrum n bassIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
30/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

At first I thought "Found And Lost" was a compilation of older and never released tracks, but apparently that's not the case. Three years after "The Sniper's Veil", Rachel Maloney emerges again to the musical surface. The reason it took a while was that after her tour in 2009, she got stuck in a two year spell of inactivity. Thankfully she came through so we can enjoy her trademark drum n bass again. Hopefully we will also get a chance of seeing her live again!

I only have "Epoch" to fall back on, and it has become a very different album then that one. Less tempo, less drum n bass, more idm with heaps of atmosphere. Sometimes hopeful and dreamy, with subtle yet distinctive piano melodies that remind me of Ab Ovo. "Hope" and "Detector" come into mind... Darker moods are also present, I love the heavy samples guitar sounds and gregorian background vocals in "Eternal Internal". A moody drum n bass version of Enigma... "Incense Redux" as similar sounds but feels more like downtempo postrock.

All those songs are quite slow in pace, so you can think her fans might miss some action packed superfast drum n bass... But there's still plenty for them too, the first two songs bring exactly that!

Rachel went through difficult times so most songs are very introspective, she brings these feelings across in a striking way. If you listen to the piano on "Orbit", it sounds like she studied the works of Wim Mertens and gave her own glitchy swing to it. On this album she brings a lot more then she ever did!

Angina P's "29 Degrees" remix is great, eerie female howls sounding like Zola Jesus that support a frightening story filled with good old drum n bass breaks and beats. Wonderful! Haujobb has altered the mood of "Detector" from hopeful to tense and machinal.

A break (even if it wasn't a planned one) has proved positive for Rachel, I really like the new directions she has explored. Welcome back Rachel!!!

Tonikom

Hymen Records

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2012


 

Next reviews
UNDERHILL • Silent Siren
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Symphonies from the abyss
STEREO SIN • Infektion Mensch
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
BALKANSKY & LOOP STEPWALKER • Adhesion
MATTA & NIVEAU ZERO • Riot / Be Real 12'
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September

 

Same combination of genres: BREAKBEAT + DRUM N BASS + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
HYDRUS • Nodes

 

Same genre: BREAKBEAT
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
NID & SANCY • The Cut Up Jeans Technique
DEFRAG • Drown
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
SILENT ENJOYMENT • St. Luke's Place
TAPAGE • Overgrown
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
ATTRITION • narcissist ep

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA REMIX WORKS by Studio-X
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal