tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2011 : HENKE - Seelenfutterung

HENKE

Seelenfutterung

MusicCD
GothicNeoclassical

[83/100]   

SPV
25/04/2011, Didier BECU

EN

You surely will remember Oswald Henke, as after all he was, along with Bruno Kramm from Das Ich, one of the biggest stars in the German gothscene from the 90’s.

In 2007 Oswald decided that he and Mindy Kumbalek would go their own way and with that, Goethes Erben were put on non-active.

He even once declared that he never would make another studio album but we already learned that you better be careful with musicians who are making such statements as it’s better to stick phrases like “Never says never again”.

The newest offering from Oswald hasn’t become Erdblast or Artwork but just a band named Henke. The helping hands are Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Guitar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drums).

“Seelenfutterung” has become the band’s debut.

You’ll better forget opener “Weill ich es kann” as this poppy gothrock song is ace but doesn’t capture the overall mood from this cd. Mind you, on  “Manisch Aggressiv” there are even more guitars to be found and it’s even a sound that sounds quite hard for Henke’s standards but in general you can say that this album is kind of familiar with…Goethes Erben.

This has of course a lot to do with Oswald’s typical German narrating-style which made him world famous in the black scene. Many tracks on this album are neo-classical just like we are expecting from him.

In the best Henke-tradition  the lyrics obtain the usual Weltschmerz-references from which  “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” is a beautiful example.

Oswald doesn’t keep his mouth shut if it comes to spreading an opinion, a songtitle like “Ich protestiere” explains itself.

“Seelenfutterung” has become a cd that will please in the first place fans from Goethes Erben (of course!) .

It is nice to have Oswald Henke back.

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


NL

Oswald Henke mag zich zonder twijfel samen met Bruno Kramm van Das Ich als één van de grootste sterren rekenen die de Duitse gothscene in de jaren ’90 kende.

Ergens in 2007 besloten Oswald Henke en Mindy Kumbalek om elk hun eigen weg te gaan waarbij Goethes Erben in de koelkast werd gestopt.

Er was zelfs eventjes sprake dat deze Duitse poëet nooit meer een studioplaat zou opnemen maar zoals we geleerd hebben uit het verleden is het beter om in de muziek bepaalde uitspraken met de nodige korrels zout te nemen.

De nieuwe plaat werd ook geen Erdblast of Artwork maar gewoon Henke gedoopt ook al laat liet Oswald zich hier bijstaan door Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Gitaar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drum).

“Seelenfutterung” is meteen het debuut van Henke (de groep) geworden.

Hierbij vergeet je maar beter opener “Weill ich es kann” want ook al is dat lekker in het gehoor liggend poppy gothrock is dit helemaal niet de stijl die je op deze cd moet verwachten. Niet dat de hardere gitaren in de kast blijven, want zo is ook bijvoorbeeld “Manisch Aggressiv” naar Henke’s normen vrij hard te noemen, maar voor de rest klinkt deze cd vrij gelijkend met tja…Goethes Erben.

Dat komt natuurlijk doordat Oswald nog steeds die typische Duitse vertelstijl bezit die hem in de eerste plaats wereldberoemd in de zwarte scène gemaakt heeft en vaak zijn vele composities neoklassiek van aard.

Zoals we het ondertussen van Oswald Henke gewoon zijn, drijven diens teksten in een weltschmerzbad waar je dingen hoort zoals “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” maar ook is er de gebruikelijke maatschappijkritiek wat mooi opgesomd wordt in de alleszeggende titel “Ich protestiere”.

“Seelenfutterung” is een cd geworden die in eerste instantie fans van Goethes Erben zal aanspreken (of wat dacht je?).

Het is fijn om deze man weer in ons zwarte midden te hebben!

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


 

Next reviews
LUST FOR YOUTH • Solar Flare
BENE GESSERIT • Half-Unreleased Madness
FRAKTURE • 30 dreizig- eine Anthologie
CONTREPOISON • ...Until next morning
MZ.412 • Nordik Battle Signs
LADISLAV KLIMA • The Sufferings of Prince Sternenhoch | Het lijden van vorst Sternenhoch
NOSFERATU • Wonderland
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • The Rite (2010)
NACHTMAHR • Semper Fidelis
INCUBITE • Toxicum

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEOCLASSICAL
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue