tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2011 : HENKE - Seelenfutterung

HENKE

Seelenfutterung

MusicCD
GothicNeoclassical

[83/100]   

SPV
25/04/2011, Didier BECU

EN

You surely will remember Oswald Henke, as after all he was, along with Bruno Kramm from Das Ich, one of the biggest stars in the German gothscene from the 90’s.

In 2007 Oswald decided that he and Mindy Kumbalek would go their own way and with that, Goethes Erben were put on non-active.

He even once declared that he never would make another studio album but we already learned that you better be careful with musicians who are making such statements as it’s better to stick phrases like “Never says never again”.

The newest offering from Oswald hasn’t become Erdblast or Artwork but just a band named Henke. The helping hands are Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Guitar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drums).

“Seelenfutterung” has become the band’s debut.

You’ll better forget opener “Weill ich es kann” as this poppy gothrock song is ace but doesn’t capture the overall mood from this cd. Mind you, on  “Manisch Aggressiv” there are even more guitars to be found and it’s even a sound that sounds quite hard for Henke’s standards but in general you can say that this album is kind of familiar with…Goethes Erben.

This has of course a lot to do with Oswald’s typical German narrating-style which made him world famous in the black scene. Many tracks on this album are neo-classical just like we are expecting from him.

In the best Henke-tradition  the lyrics obtain the usual Weltschmerz-references from which  “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” is a beautiful example.

Oswald doesn’t keep his mouth shut if it comes to spreading an opinion, a songtitle like “Ich protestiere” explains itself.

“Seelenfutterung” has become a cd that will please in the first place fans from Goethes Erben (of course!) .

It is nice to have Oswald Henke back.

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


NL

Oswald Henke mag zich zonder twijfel samen met Bruno Kramm van Das Ich als één van de grootste sterren rekenen die de Duitse gothscene in de jaren ’90 kende.

Ergens in 2007 besloten Oswald Henke en Mindy Kumbalek om elk hun eigen weg te gaan waarbij Goethes Erben in de koelkast werd gestopt.

Er was zelfs eventjes sprake dat deze Duitse poëet nooit meer een studioplaat zou opnemen maar zoals we geleerd hebben uit het verleden is het beter om in de muziek bepaalde uitspraken met de nodige korrels zout te nemen.

De nieuwe plaat werd ook geen Erdblast of Artwork maar gewoon Henke gedoopt ook al laat liet Oswald zich hier bijstaan door Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Gitaar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drum).

“Seelenfutterung” is meteen het debuut van Henke (de groep) geworden.

Hierbij vergeet je maar beter opener “Weill ich es kann” want ook al is dat lekker in het gehoor liggend poppy gothrock is dit helemaal niet de stijl die je op deze cd moet verwachten. Niet dat de hardere gitaren in de kast blijven, want zo is ook bijvoorbeeld “Manisch Aggressiv” naar Henke’s normen vrij hard te noemen, maar voor de rest klinkt deze cd vrij gelijkend met tja…Goethes Erben.

Dat komt natuurlijk doordat Oswald nog steeds die typische Duitse vertelstijl bezit die hem in de eerste plaats wereldberoemd in de zwarte scène gemaakt heeft en vaak zijn vele composities neoklassiek van aard.

Zoals we het ondertussen van Oswald Henke gewoon zijn, drijven diens teksten in een weltschmerzbad waar je dingen hoort zoals “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” maar ook is er de gebruikelijke maatschappijkritiek wat mooi opgesomd wordt in de alleszeggende titel “Ich protestiere”.

“Seelenfutterung” is een cd geworden die in eerste instantie fans van Goethes Erben zal aanspreken (of wat dacht je?).

Het is fijn om deze man weer in ons zwarte midden te hebben!

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


 

Next reviews
LUST FOR YOUTH • Solar Flare
BENE GESSERIT • Half-Unreleased Madness
FRAKTURE • 30 dreizig- eine Anthologie
CONTREPOISON • ...Until next morning
MZ.412 • Nordik Battle Signs
LADISLAV KLIMA • The Sufferings of Prince Sternenhoch | Het lijden van vorst Sternenhoch
NOSFERATU • Wonderland
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • The Rite (2010)
NACHTMAHR • Semper Fidelis
INCUBITE • Toxicum

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEOCLASSICAL
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger