tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2011 : HENKE - Seelenfutterung

HENKE

Seelenfutterung

MusicCD
GothicNeoclassical

[83/100]   

SPV
25/04/2011, Didier BECU

EN

You surely will remember Oswald Henke, as after all he was, along with Bruno Kramm from Das Ich, one of the biggest stars in the German gothscene from the 90’s.

In 2007 Oswald decided that he and Mindy Kumbalek would go their own way and with that, Goethes Erben were put on non-active.

He even once declared that he never would make another studio album but we already learned that you better be careful with musicians who are making such statements as it’s better to stick phrases like “Never says never again”.

The newest offering from Oswald hasn’t become Erdblast or Artwork but just a band named Henke. The helping hands are Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Guitar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drums).

“Seelenfutterung” has become the band’s debut.

You’ll better forget opener “Weill ich es kann” as this poppy gothrock song is ace but doesn’t capture the overall mood from this cd. Mind you, on  “Manisch Aggressiv” there are even more guitars to be found and it’s even a sound that sounds quite hard for Henke’s standards but in general you can say that this album is kind of familiar with…Goethes Erben.

This has of course a lot to do with Oswald’s typical German narrating-style which made him world famous in the black scene. Many tracks on this album are neo-classical just like we are expecting from him.

In the best Henke-tradition  the lyrics obtain the usual Weltschmerz-references from which  “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” is a beautiful example.

Oswald doesn’t keep his mouth shut if it comes to spreading an opinion, a songtitle like “Ich protestiere” explains itself.

“Seelenfutterung” has become a cd that will please in the first place fans from Goethes Erben (of course!) .

It is nice to have Oswald Henke back.

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


NL

Oswald Henke mag zich zonder twijfel samen met Bruno Kramm van Das Ich als één van de grootste sterren rekenen die de Duitse gothscene in de jaren ’90 kende.

Ergens in 2007 besloten Oswald Henke en Mindy Kumbalek om elk hun eigen weg te gaan waarbij Goethes Erben in de koelkast werd gestopt.

Er was zelfs eventjes sprake dat deze Duitse poëet nooit meer een studioplaat zou opnemen maar zoals we geleerd hebben uit het verleden is het beter om in de muziek bepaalde uitspraken met de nodige korrels zout te nemen.

De nieuwe plaat werd ook geen Erdblast of Artwork maar gewoon Henke gedoopt ook al laat liet Oswald zich hier bijstaan door Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Gitaar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drum).

“Seelenfutterung” is meteen het debuut van Henke (de groep) geworden.

Hierbij vergeet je maar beter opener “Weill ich es kann” want ook al is dat lekker in het gehoor liggend poppy gothrock is dit helemaal niet de stijl die je op deze cd moet verwachten. Niet dat de hardere gitaren in de kast blijven, want zo is ook bijvoorbeeld “Manisch Aggressiv” naar Henke’s normen vrij hard te noemen, maar voor de rest klinkt deze cd vrij gelijkend met tja…Goethes Erben.

Dat komt natuurlijk doordat Oswald nog steeds die typische Duitse vertelstijl bezit die hem in de eerste plaats wereldberoemd in de zwarte scène gemaakt heeft en vaak zijn vele composities neoklassiek van aard.

Zoals we het ondertussen van Oswald Henke gewoon zijn, drijven diens teksten in een weltschmerzbad waar je dingen hoort zoals “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” maar ook is er de gebruikelijke maatschappijkritiek wat mooi opgesomd wordt in de alleszeggende titel “Ich protestiere”.

“Seelenfutterung” is een cd geworden die in eerste instantie fans van Goethes Erben zal aanspreken (of wat dacht je?).

Het is fijn om deze man weer in ons zwarte midden te hebben!

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


 

Next reviews
LUST FOR YOUTH • Solar Flare
BENE GESSERIT • Half-Unreleased Madness
FRAKTURE • 30 dreizig- eine Anthologie
CONTREPOISON • ...Until next morning
MZ.412 • Nordik Battle Signs
LADISLAV KLIMA • The Sufferings of Prince Sternenhoch | Het lijden van vorst Sternenhoch
NOSFERATU • Wonderland
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • The Rite (2010)
NACHTMAHR • Semper Fidelis
INCUBITE • Toxicum

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEOCLASSICAL
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline