tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2011 : HENKE - Seelenfutterung

HENKE

Seelenfutterung

MusicCD
GothicNeoclassical

[83/100]   

SPV
25/04/2011, Didier BECU

EN

You surely will remember Oswald Henke, as after all he was, along with Bruno Kramm from Das Ich, one of the biggest stars in the German gothscene from the 90’s.

In 2007 Oswald decided that he and Mindy Kumbalek would go their own way and with that, Goethes Erben were put on non-active.

He even once declared that he never would make another studio album but we already learned that you better be careful with musicians who are making such statements as it’s better to stick phrases like “Never says never again”.

The newest offering from Oswald hasn’t become Erdblast or Artwork but just a band named Henke. The helping hands are Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Guitar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drums).

“Seelenfutterung” has become the band’s debut.

You’ll better forget opener “Weill ich es kann” as this poppy gothrock song is ace but doesn’t capture the overall mood from this cd. Mind you, on  “Manisch Aggressiv” there are even more guitars to be found and it’s even a sound that sounds quite hard for Henke’s standards but in general you can say that this album is kind of familiar with…Goethes Erben.

This has of course a lot to do with Oswald’s typical German narrating-style which made him world famous in the black scene. Many tracks on this album are neo-classical just like we are expecting from him.

In the best Henke-tradition  the lyrics obtain the usual Weltschmerz-references from which  “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” is a beautiful example.

Oswald doesn’t keep his mouth shut if it comes to spreading an opinion, a songtitle like “Ich protestiere” explains itself.

“Seelenfutterung” has become a cd that will please in the first place fans from Goethes Erben (of course!) .

It is nice to have Oswald Henke back.

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


NL

Oswald Henke mag zich zonder twijfel samen met Bruno Kramm van Das Ich als één van de grootste sterren rekenen die de Duitse gothscene in de jaren ’90 kende.

Ergens in 2007 besloten Oswald Henke en Mindy Kumbalek om elk hun eigen weg te gaan waarbij Goethes Erben in de koelkast werd gestopt.

Er was zelfs eventjes sprake dat deze Duitse poëet nooit meer een studioplaat zou opnemen maar zoals we geleerd hebben uit het verleden is het beter om in de muziek bepaalde uitspraken met de nodige korrels zout te nemen.

De nieuwe plaat werd ook geen Erdblast of Artwork maar gewoon Henke gedoopt ook al laat liet Oswald zich hier bijstaan door Hanna Løg (Piano), Tom Bola (Bass), Stefan Söllner (Gitaar) en Benjamin Küfner (Drum).

“Seelenfutterung” is meteen het debuut van Henke (de groep) geworden.

Hierbij vergeet je maar beter opener “Weill ich es kann” want ook al is dat lekker in het gehoor liggend poppy gothrock is dit helemaal niet de stijl die je op deze cd moet verwachten. Niet dat de hardere gitaren in de kast blijven, want zo is ook bijvoorbeeld “Manisch Aggressiv” naar Henke’s normen vrij hard te noemen, maar voor de rest klinkt deze cd vrij gelijkend met tja…Goethes Erben.

Dat komt natuurlijk doordat Oswald nog steeds die typische Duitse vertelstijl bezit die hem in de eerste plaats wereldberoemd in de zwarte scène gemaakt heeft en vaak zijn vele composities neoklassiek van aard.

Zoals we het ondertussen van Oswald Henke gewoon zijn, drijven diens teksten in een weltschmerzbad waar je dingen hoort zoals “Die Welt macht mich traurig, nicht ich mich selbst” maar ook is er de gebruikelijke maatschappijkritiek wat mooi opgesomd wordt in de alleszeggende titel “Ich protestiere”.

“Seelenfutterung” is een cd geworden die in eerste instantie fans van Goethes Erben zal aanspreken (of wat dacht je?).

Het is fijn om deze man weer in ons zwarte midden te hebben!

 

Henke

Didier BECU
25/04/2011


 

Next reviews
LUST FOR YOUTH • Solar Flare
BENE GESSERIT • Half-Unreleased Madness
FRAKTURE • 30 dreizig- eine Anthologie
CONTREPOISON • ...Until next morning
MZ.412 • Nordik Battle Signs
LADISLAV KLIMA • The Sufferings of Prince Sternenhoch | Het lijden van vorst Sternenhoch
NOSFERATU • Wonderland
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • The Rite (2010)
NACHTMAHR • Semper Fidelis
INCUBITE • Toxicum

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEOCLASSICAL
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes