tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/03/2012 : HENKE - Herz (EP)

HENKE

Herz (EP)

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic

[86/100]   

SPV
31/03/2012, Ward DE PRINS

EN

I never liked the EPs of Henke. And so also this one, Herz. There’s only one reason for it: Henke’s compositions are always great and an EP is way too short to bring or give you the perfect mood for it, and it always leaves you hungry yearning for more.

However, playing in on repeat, gave me the intensity a release of Henke deserves.

Title track Herz opens the EP. Romantic piano playing and violins build up a slow & beautiful ballad where Henke pontificates about the human heart and the feeling of loss & solitude.

That same feeling can be found in Heroes, a masterpiece from David Bowie. Normally I would recommend people not to try to cover the true great classic rock songs, but Oswald Henke reconstructs the song in his own beautiful way. In Oswalds recreation, the basics of the song remain the same as the original, but he gently whispers the words toward his opponent, Sonja Kraushofer (Coma Divine, L'Âme Immortelle). She takes over the female part with powerful and highly intense vocals. The result is a creation of its own: simply "Helden".

Third (and last ) new song on the EP is Orangenschiffchen. In the tradition of some Goethes Erben songs, Mr. Henke builds up a beautiful song around a rather obvious theme as an orange boat. Several changes of pace and a truly great arrangement make also this song intense.

The following song is a live recording of Weil ich es kann. It proves that Henke remains a great live performer: the intensity and beautiful details of original songs never get lost if Henke performs them live.

The final track is a remix of the title track, Herz. This ambient like remix is not bad, but it brings no added value to the EP. Personally, I would have skipped it on this great EP.

But we forgive him for this minor mistake, since Henke is a Hero, and not only for one day.

So check out this great EP

Du

Könntest Du schwimmen
Wie Delphine
Delphine es tun
Niemand gibt uns eine Chance
Doch können wir siegen
Für immer und immer
Und wir sind dann Helden
Für einen Tag

Ich
Ich bin dann König
Und Du
Du Königin
Obwohl sie
Unschlagbar scheinen
Werden wir Helden
Für einen Tag
Wir sind dann wir
An diesem Tag

Ich
Ich glaub' das zu träumen
die Mauer
Im Rücken war kalt
Die Schüsse reissen die Luft
Doch wir küssen
Als ob nichts geschieht
Und die Scham fiel auf ihre Seite
Oh, wir können sie schlagen
Für alle Zeiten
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag

Dann sind wir Helden

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


NL

Ik heb nooit gehouden van de EP’s van Henke. En zo ook deze niet, Herz genaamd. De reden is vrij eenvoudig: Henke’s composities zijn altijd briljant en een EP is per definitie veel te kort om de juiste mood  te creëren of je in de juiste mood te brengen. Het laat je altijd op je honger zitten, hunkerend naar meer.

Hoe dan ook, als ik het schijfje continu op repeat plaats geeft het me de intensiteit en mood die een release van Henke verdient.

Het titelnummer Herz opent de EP. Romantisch pianospel en aanzwengend vioolspel bouwen op tot een mooie ballad, waarbij Oswald verhaalt over het menselijke hart en diens gevoelens van verlies en eenzaamheid.

Datzelfde gevoel kan teruggevonden worden in Heroes, een meesterwerk van David Bowie. Normaal gezien zou ik een artiest afraden om een poging to ondernemen om een dergelijke klassieker te coveren, maar Henke geraakt er mee weg, en hoe! Muzikaal volgt hij redelijk het origineel, al klinkt alles wel iets donkerder, maar de transformatie naar een duet met Sonja Kraushofer (Coma Divine, L'Âme Immortelle) werkt. Oswald fluistert zijn deel en Sonja mag krachtig en intens uithalen. Een meer dan geslaagde cover !

De derde (en laatste nieuwe) song is Orangenschiffchen. In de traditie van sommige Goethes Erben songs bouwt Mr. Henke een prachtig arrangement uit rond een eerder triviaal gegeven als een appelsienenboot. De diverse tempowisselingen en percussie maken de song extra intens.

Als volgende verrassing krijgen we een live opname van Weil ich es kann. Het bewijst (voor zover dat nog nodig is) dat Henke een geweldige live performer is, waarbij de intensiteit en details van de originele songs nooit verloren gaan. Heerlijk!

De uitsmijter van de EP is een remix van het titelnummer, Herz. De ambient-achtige remix is niet slecht maar biedt niet echt een toegevoegde waarde aan het schijfje en had men dus mijns inziens ook best achterwege gelaten.

Maar dat kleine foutje vergeven we hem maar al te graag, want Henke is een Held, en niet voor één dag, en alleen al daarom zou u dit schijfje moeten kopen!

 

Du
Könntest Du schwimmen
Wie Delphine
Delphine es tun
Niemand gibt uns eine Chance
Doch können wir siegen
Für immer und immer
Und wir sind dann Helden
Für einen Tag

Ich
Ich bin dann König
Und Du
Du Königin
Obwohl sie
Unschlagbar scheinen
Werden wir Helden
Für einen Tag
Wir sind dann wir
An diesem Tag

Ich
Ich glaub' das zu träumen
die Mauer
Im Rücken war kalt
Die Schüsse reissen die Luft
Doch wir küssen
Als ob nichts geschieht
Und die Scham fiel auf ihre Seite
Oh, wir können sie schlagen
Für alle Zeiten
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag

Dann sind wir Helden

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


 

Next reviews
18 SUMMERS • The Magic Circus
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades
M. FALLAN • Contagious
KIM NOVAK • The Golden Mean
GUILT TRIP • Feed The Fire
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
THE OUTSIDERS • Close Up
SOAP&SKIN • Narrow
DEAD VOICES ON AIR • Michael And The Angels Fought
THE OUTSIDERS • Calling On Youth

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes