tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/03/2012 : INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS - Naiades

INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS

Naiades

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalGothic

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
31/03/2012, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Monica Richards latest gift to our scene is Naiades.
According to Greek mythology, Naiades are nymphs that preside fountains, wells, springs, streams, and brooks.

It’s not a regular new release but a true Gesamtkunstwerk. Together with a lot of artists, Monica created a fantastic book accompanying the music. It gives you that feeling of discovering new releases 25 years ago. Surrounded by the lovely music you can browse and lose oneself in this beautiful booklet.

In the style of Infra Warrior, we get a nice mixture of electro, tribal, gothic and gothrock. The connection between Woman and Nature remains a prominent theme in Monica's work.

The opener, Naiades, brings us gently in the mood with an atmospheric, ambient like sound. Monica’s fantastic voice calls you and makes you wonder in a surreal world. But with the next song she immediate proves her diversity and brings us straight back to earth: Pride is powerful gothrock that remains me of the best Faith & The Muse compositions.

A bit further we listen to more tribal based songs like Scylla & Charybdis, a song purely based on her voice and some percussion, or The Mighty. Both songs could be perfectly on a film score.

All songs are really great and diverse, but two songs touched me immediately.
Lureinlay : Monica’s fragile voice melts the glaciers down, accompanied by fantastic classical arrangments.
We Go On: a storytelling about a broken heart, a broken future , gently starting with a desperate voice and some acoustic guitar, but building up to a powerful statement (both music and lyrics), marvelous.

If we may believe the rumors, Monica had to conquer some demons from the past. And interpreting the texts, I guess writing these songs was also a kind of cure for her. Focusing on this compositions and all other facets of the actual release must have taken a lot of time, but must also have given her a lot of joyful moments. Now, it’s our time to enjoy Naiades.

If you buy this piece of Art directly from her website, you’ll get a signed copy.

After that, you just have to listen to this masterpiece and wait for the accompanying tour.

(Stealing & mixing some of her own lyrics)

No one knows how to love anymore.

But join me in this moment, Let it come. And let it go. We are right here.

But you are my harmer, I can feel your strength

Keep your heart alive, I’m almost there.

You & I will go on.

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


ComScore

NL

Naiades is de laatste boreling van Monica Richards (in de Griekse mythologie zijn Naiades waternymfen. Ze personifieerden en bewaakten alle rivieren, meren, moerassen, fonteinen en bronnen.) Het is geen gewone release geworden maar een echt Gesamtkunstwerk. Samen met een heel deel artiesten creëerde Monica een prachtig boek die de CD begeleidt, omhult. Het geeft me zo een beetje het gevoel dat ik 25 jaren geleden had als ik nieuwe muziek ontdekte. Muziek als een geluidsbehang rond me en snuisteren in de hoezen en inserts om zo meer te ontdekken.

In de stijl van InfraWarrior krijgen we ook hier een mix van electro, tribal, goth & gothrock, waarbij de connectie tussen Vrouw en Natuur ook hier weer een voorname rol speelt.

De opener, Naiades, brengt je rusitg in te sfeer met een atmosferisch, ambient achtig nummer. Monica's prachtige stem spreekt je rechtstreeks aan en doet je verdwalen in een surreële fantasiewereld. Maar met het volgende nummer toont ze ineens haar diversiteit aan en brengt je zo ook terug met beide voeten op de grond: Pride is een krachtig gothrock nummer dat me doet denken aan de stevigere nummers van Faith & The Muse.

Een beetje verderop luisteren we naar meer tribal gebaseerde songs zoals Scylla & Charybdis, dat enkel en alleen op haar stem en enige percussie is gebaseerd, of ook nog The Mighty. Beide songs zouden zo op een soundtrack kunnen staan.

Alle composities zijn prachtig én divers. Twee ervan raakten me vanaf de eerste luisterbeurt onmiddellijk (en intussen een dertigtal luisterbeurten verder blijft dit nog steeds zo. In Lureinlay wordt Monica’s fragiele stem begeleidt door een heerlijke klassieke compositie met strijkersn en in We Go On verhaalt ze over een gebroken hart, een gebroken toekomst. Dit laatste nummer start rustig met een haast wanhopige stem en akoestische gitaar, doch bouwt uit tot een powerful statement (muziek & lyrics), heerlijk. 

Als we de geruchten mogen geloven heeft Monica het laatste jaar enige demonen moeten verdrijven of overwinnen. Als ik luister naar de teksten, vermoed ik dat het creëren van Naiades ook een methodiek was om deze overwinning te boeken. Het focussen op deze composities en alle facetten van het hele traject om deze release te voltooien moet haar ontzetten veel tij hebben gekost, maar allicht ook veel vreugdevolle momenten hebben gegeven. En nu is het onze beurt om te genieten van Naiades.

Trouwens, als je dit kunstwerk rechtstreeks via haar website koopt, krijg je Naiades gesigneerd in je postbus !

En daarna is het enkel nog wachten op de tournee die deze CD release mag begeleiden…

 

(Brutaal als ik ben heb ik enkele van haar lyrics gestolen en terug samengesteld)

No one knows how to love anymore.

But join me in this moment, Let it come. And let it go. We are right here.

But you are my harmer, I can feel your strength

Keep your heart alive, I’m almost there.

You & I will go on.

 

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


ComScore

 

Next reviews
M. FALLAN • Contagious
KIM NOVAK • The Golden Mean
GUILT TRIP • Feed The Fire
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
THE OUTSIDERS • Close Up
SOAP&SKIN • Narrow
DEAD VOICES ON AIR • Michael And The Angels Fought
THE OUTSIDERS • Calling On Youth
FRONT242 • At Coliseum in Charleroi with Texas Trauma and Fouck Brothers
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Clubbers die younger

 

Other reviews from INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + GOTHIC
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
CASTLEFEST 2014 • Rosa Crvx, The Dolmen, Cesair, Irfan, Folk Noir, The Moon And The Nightspirit
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
43 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
LIZARD SMILE
State Of Void
08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise