tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/03/2012 : INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS - Naiades

INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS

Naiades

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalGothic

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
31/03/2012, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Monica Richards latest gift to our scene is Naiades.
According to Greek mythology, Naiades are nymphs that preside fountains, wells, springs, streams, and brooks.

It’s not a regular new release but a true Gesamtkunstwerk. Together with a lot of artists, Monica created a fantastic book accompanying the music. It gives you that feeling of discovering new releases 25 years ago. Surrounded by the lovely music you can browse and lose oneself in this beautiful booklet.

In the style of Infra Warrior, we get a nice mixture of electro, tribal, gothic and gothrock. The connection between Woman and Nature remains a prominent theme in Monica's work.

The opener, Naiades, brings us gently in the mood with an atmospheric, ambient like sound. Monica’s fantastic voice calls you and makes you wonder in a surreal world. But with the next song she immediate proves her diversity and brings us straight back to earth: Pride is powerful gothrock that remains me of the best Faith & The Muse compositions.

A bit further we listen to more tribal based songs like Scylla & Charybdis, a song purely based on her voice and some percussion, or The Mighty. Both songs could be perfectly on a film score.

All songs are really great and diverse, but two songs touched me immediately.
Lureinlay : Monica’s fragile voice melts the glaciers down, accompanied by fantastic classical arrangments.
We Go On: a storytelling about a broken heart, a broken future , gently starting with a desperate voice and some acoustic guitar, but building up to a powerful statement (both music and lyrics), marvelous.

If we may believe the rumors, Monica had to conquer some demons from the past. And interpreting the texts, I guess writing these songs was also a kind of cure for her. Focusing on this compositions and all other facets of the actual release must have taken a lot of time, but must also have given her a lot of joyful moments. Now, it’s our time to enjoy Naiades.

If you buy this piece of Art directly from her website, you’ll get a signed copy.

After that, you just have to listen to this masterpiece and wait for the accompanying tour.

(Stealing & mixing some of her own lyrics)

No one knows how to love anymore.

But join me in this moment, Let it come. And let it go. We are right here.

But you are my harmer, I can feel your strength

Keep your heart alive, I’m almost there.

You & I will go on.

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


ComScore

NL

Naiades is de laatste boreling van Monica Richards (in de Griekse mythologie zijn Naiades waternymfen. Ze personifieerden en bewaakten alle rivieren, meren, moerassen, fonteinen en bronnen.) Het is geen gewone release geworden maar een echt Gesamtkunstwerk. Samen met een heel deel artiesten creëerde Monica een prachtig boek die de CD begeleidt, omhult. Het geeft me zo een beetje het gevoel dat ik 25 jaren geleden had als ik nieuwe muziek ontdekte. Muziek als een geluidsbehang rond me en snuisteren in de hoezen en inserts om zo meer te ontdekken.

In de stijl van InfraWarrior krijgen we ook hier een mix van electro, tribal, goth & gothrock, waarbij de connectie tussen Vrouw en Natuur ook hier weer een voorname rol speelt.

De opener, Naiades, brengt je rusitg in te sfeer met een atmosferisch, ambient achtig nummer. Monica's prachtige stem spreekt je rechtstreeks aan en doet je verdwalen in een surreële fantasiewereld. Maar met het volgende nummer toont ze ineens haar diversiteit aan en brengt je zo ook terug met beide voeten op de grond: Pride is een krachtig gothrock nummer dat me doet denken aan de stevigere nummers van Faith & The Muse.

Een beetje verderop luisteren we naar meer tribal gebaseerde songs zoals Scylla & Charybdis, dat enkel en alleen op haar stem en enige percussie is gebaseerd, of ook nog The Mighty. Beide songs zouden zo op een soundtrack kunnen staan.

Alle composities zijn prachtig én divers. Twee ervan raakten me vanaf de eerste luisterbeurt onmiddellijk (en intussen een dertigtal luisterbeurten verder blijft dit nog steeds zo. In Lureinlay wordt Monica’s fragiele stem begeleidt door een heerlijke klassieke compositie met strijkersn en in We Go On verhaalt ze over een gebroken hart, een gebroken toekomst. Dit laatste nummer start rustig met een haast wanhopige stem en akoestische gitaar, doch bouwt uit tot een powerful statement (muziek & lyrics), heerlijk. 

Als we de geruchten mogen geloven heeft Monica het laatste jaar enige demonen moeten verdrijven of overwinnen. Als ik luister naar de teksten, vermoed ik dat het creëren van Naiades ook een methodiek was om deze overwinning te boeken. Het focussen op deze composities en alle facetten van het hele traject om deze release te voltooien moet haar ontzetten veel tij hebben gekost, maar allicht ook veel vreugdevolle momenten hebben gegeven. En nu is het onze beurt om te genieten van Naiades.

Trouwens, als je dit kunstwerk rechtstreeks via haar website koopt, krijg je Naiades gesigneerd in je postbus !

En daarna is het enkel nog wachten op de tournee die deze CD release mag begeleiden…

 

(Brutaal als ik ben heb ik enkele van haar lyrics gestolen en terug samengesteld)

No one knows how to love anymore.

But join me in this moment, Let it come. And let it go. We are right here.

But you are my harmer, I can feel your strength

Keep your heart alive, I’m almost there.

You & I will go on.

 

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


ComScore

 

Next reviews
M. FALLAN • Contagious
KIM NOVAK • The Golden Mean
GUILT TRIP • Feed The Fire
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
THE OUTSIDERS • Close Up
SOAP&SKIN • Narrow
DEAD VOICES ON AIR • Michael And The Angels Fought
THE OUTSIDERS • Calling On Youth
FRONT242 • At Coliseum in Charleroi with Texas Trauma and Fouck Brothers
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Clubbers die younger

 

Other reviews from INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + GOTHIC
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
CASTLEFEST 2014 • Rosa Crvx, The Dolmen, Cesair, Irfan, Folk Noir, The Moon And The Nightspirit
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Kindred

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now
05
11
DIVE
Far Away (Live)