tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/04/2011 : INCUBITE - Toxicum

INCUBITE

Toxicum

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrialMetal

[70/100]   

Dark Dimensions
21/04/2011, Didier BECU

I guess it’s not the first time someone tells you better not to judge a book by its cover. In the case of Incubite, we can’t help it repeating that old cliché.

On the cover you can see some young guy who’s drenched in blood and even if you’re expecting some harsh noise, the sound is different.

They are not the type of band who are hesitating to bomb you with tons of decibels but still you can consider “Toxicum” as an enjoyable noise/ebm/metal-record or at least something like that!

Incubite comes from the Ruhr-area in Germany and is fronted by Neil Oblivion. Two years ago they had a smashing hit in the German clubs with "Muschitanz" and of course a full album had to be made. Even if we are complaining that many dancealbums suffer from a monotonous sound or that it only has some use on the dancefloor, Toxicum prove that it can be done in a different way.

Their secret is more than simple as they just use the right beat, the right guitar, the right melody or just the right text.

From the very beginning, things are going in the right direction with "Judgement Day" and it’s quickly followed by "Deafening" that contains an irresistible indusbeat or what about the whipping sounds from "Glowstix, neon & blood" ?

"Toxicum" is clearly inspired by the later Suicide Commando but no one here at the office that complains about that!

And just in case you think they have no sense of humour: just listen to "WW3" in where you can hear a hilarious German version from the titlesong from Kubrick’s "Full Metal Jacket".

Oh yes, we are aware that some people will rather puke from this music but just as we like the cliché about the book and its cover, never forget the one about the colours and tastes and their differences.

Incubite

Didier BECU
21/04/2011


 

Next reviews
MILLIPEDE • Powerless
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Credo
CHAINREACTOR • Insomniac
DURAN DURAN • All You Need Is Now
KMFDM • WTF
LADYTRON • Best of 00-10
BATTLESHIP ROMANCE • Listen.Edit.Record.Repeat EP
KEPESLAP • Power And Darkness
DER KLINKE • Square Moon
COVENANT • Modern Ruin

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You