tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA

live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectroIndustrialMinimal

[90/100]   
22/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest this was one of the things I was looking for & I really wanted to be here. There were so many other events that I was astonished to see so many people showing up. For me It was also the first time as a reporter and photographer (honestly I don't have the ambition to overpass our own professional guy, this one is a try out, knowing that the lightshow would be perfect for a try out as this one is known for beiing a pain in the ass of many photographers)... a good test for my new camera!

First band to start with came in as last minute replacement, but Maria was an incoming missile, a shot in the rose! For those who don't know Maria is a side-project from Pierre Pauly (Parade Ground). It was clear to me that this one was a tribute to electro and EBM gods. One of them is Fad Gadget ('Lady Shave' & 'Back to Nature' were mixed into his music). Frank Tovey's madness on stage was here to, the show was set on fire. People really loved it. It was crazy and fired up. There was a lot of delay & repeat on the voice and some things reminded me clearly about the early Front242, and that was something everybody appreciated very much. For me it was for sure a nice time (but the lightshow was too horrible for me to produce good enough pics, you'll have to see the ones of Xavier).

Next band Cruise CTRL is cool duo, two friends of me who worked their ass off to get where they are today and working even harder to get higher up. 120 BPM! It wasn't retro, but they managed to get the fire going and build it up. Not much to see, but the music spoke for itself. Brux (Hell) is fine for my friends!

The main event is really a step back to its origins. Nothing more but the shell out which Front242 grew up. It's clear that Underviewer is really minimal wave and cold EBM, however is saw a lot of people moving around and dancing. I also noticed how much of Underviewer is part of the newer project 32Crash. Love the French songs! 'Kampfbereit' was one of the highlights. The lightshow is great & they show nice footage. Underviewer has some clear messages and J-L knows how to bring them. Something else that came up to is that most of the songs are very short & I must admit: it's the first time I see them on stage. I was a bit astonished when the show came to an end, I felt like there was time for more & strangely enough the audience was happy with that. I was happy to see them & hope to see them more. Once again it was very clear how much people Underviewer (and later on Front242) influenced. Thanks a lot Fred Cotton for organizing stuff and keeping the scene alive! (and that's also a quote from J-L)!

As a photographer I had to delete a lot, but that's already a big difference with the past (at least it doesn't cost you a fortune). I felt the right vibe and have a long path to go. Thanks for the help coming from Xavier & Sylvie for the help and advice.

For the fans, the interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/underviewer-pre-front242/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
22/09/2013


22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Next reviews
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: EBM
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race
15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'

PHOTOS

20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners
14
09
ANATHEMA
A Natural Disaster (from A Sort of Homecoming)
13
09
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
09
PORTION CONTROL
LIVE @ SCHLAGSTROM - 2014