tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination

THE SPIERIG BROTHERS

Predestination

Movie
ActionScience Fiction

[60/100]   

SONY SPHE
03/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you better known Michael and Peter Spierig as the Spierig brothers: the Australian twin brothers who are loved by the horror audience because of their zombie film Undead of 2003. It took them six years before releasing another picture (Daybreakers) and they almost needed the same amount of time for their third one: Predestination that also features Ethan Hawke.

Hawke apparently can do no wrong for critics, and so Predestination became a favorite at various film festivals (Ghent is one of them), but for the rest this film is directly launched on the DVD market. The two brothers are DIY-men. The film is released by Sony, but they had a very small budget and did almost everything themselves, from writing the complicated scenario to design special effects on their computers. The scenario is based on the short story All You Zombies by Robert A. Heinlein, who you might know of the Verhoeven classic Starship Troopers. We have not read the original story, but we hope it is less complicated than the film, because the remote control is almost essential if you want to follow this futuristic story.

Ethan Hawke plays a bartender who is actually a temporal agent, an agent who can travel in time to stop major criminals. On top of his list is the Fizzle The Bomber: a terrorist who wants to attack New York. Especially the mysterious Jane (Sarah Snook) plays a crucial role.

Story wise Predestination has much in common with Looper by Rian Johnson. There is a lot of time travel and the characters are constantly changing (from appearance and task). The makers did not opt for an easy story which makes it sometimes difficult to follow. The efforts that are needed are compensated by good performances of both Hawke and Sarah Snook, an actress we soon will see in the horror film Jessabelle.

Predestination is now out on Sony SPHE both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


NL

Michael en Peter Spierig zal je misschien wel gewoon als de broertjes Spierig kennen: de Australische tweeling die geliefd is bij het horrorpubliek door z'n zombiefilm Undead uit 2003. Het duurde zes jaar vooraleer zij met de sciencefictionprent Daybreakers iets nieuws uitbrachten, en ze hadden bijna even veel tijd nodig voor hun derde Predestination die met dezelfde hoofdrolspeler (Ethan Hawke) is gemaakt.

Hawke kan blijkbaar maar weinig fout doen bij de pers en dus werd Predestination een lieveling op diverse filmfestivals (Gent is er daar eentje van), maar voor de rest moet deze film genoegen nemen met de dvd-markt. De twee broertjes zijn echte doe-het-zelvers. De film is uitgebracht door Sony, doch beschikten zij over een piepklein budget en deden bijna alles zelf: van het schrijven van het ingewikkelde scenario tot het ontwerpen van de special effects op hun computers. Het scenario is trouwens gebaseerd op het kortverhaal All You Zombies van Robert A. Heinlein, die je wellicht kent van de Verhoeven-klassieker Starship Troopers. Zelf hebben we het verhaal nog niet gelezen, maar we hopen dat het minder ingewikkeld is dan de film zelf, want de afstandsbediening is bijna onmisbaar als je dit futuristische verhaal wil volgen.

Ethan Hawke speelt een barman die eigenlijk een Temporal Agent is, dat is een superagent die door de tijd kan reizen om grote misdadigers tegen te houden. Op het lijstje van uit te schakelen criminelen staat The Fizzle Bomber: een terrorist die het op New York heeft gemunt. Vooral de geheimzinnige Jane (Sarah Snook) speelt daarin een cruciale rol.

Predestination lijkt qua verhaal een beetje op Looper van Rian Johnson. Er wordt heel wat in de tijd gereisd en de verschillende personages veranderen voortdurend (van uiterlijk en functie). De makers kozen niet voor een kant-en-klaarverhaal waardoor het toch geregeld wat slikken wordt. Na 90 minuten inspanning blijft er uiteindelijk niet veel over, toch wordt veel goed gemaakt door de knappe vertolkingen, zowel van Hawke als van Sarah Snook die we binnenkort ook in de griezelfilm Jessabelle aan het werk kunnen zien.

Predestination is nu uit op Sony SPHE, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination 03/12/2014 : THE SPIERIG BROTHERS - Predestination

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation