tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4

THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4

MovieTV series
HorrorTV Series

[80/100]   

E1
02/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re a fan from The Walking Dead then you surely have faced this problem. People coming up to you, shaking their head as they just don’t understand how someone can be hooked on a series featuring zombies. We totally agree, the zombie genre is the ideal category if you want to see crap. But, and you must have read this already a million times before, The Walking Dead is different. The series that is based upon the comics by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore and Charlie Adlard is the best horror series you’ll ever find. Even more: one of the best in all genres!

Of course it was a difficult job for the makers to keep on finding interesting ingredients for the story that is set in Atlanta (Georgia). Some people were quite hard on the third season as they thought it was getting boring. It surely seems that director Frank Darabont took those words for granted as the newest season has become a pure blast. It takes some episodes before the viewer got sucked into the zombie-apocalypse, but once everything starts you can only conclude that the 4th one is the best so far. Well, according to the makers the upcoming 5th season will even be better, but we guess they’re forced to say such things, not?

 The third part had indeed the force from characters like The Governor (David Morrissey who created one of the greatest villains ever), but the story was too much limited to the space of the prison. That completely changes now! The group survivors that are under the command of former policeman Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) has succeeded in escape from the walking dead. Life is peaceful and for a while you tend to think that the new chapter from The Walking Dead-franchise is fodder for romantic souls. Of course not! In no time a deadly virus breaks out and the group is forced to go outside as they need to find a vaccine. On their way they meet all kind of creatures and characters they better should have avoid!

No, we won’t go any further. We won’t reveal any spoilers. The magic from this 4th season consists in every episode having a cliffhanger that makes you ache to see immediately the next one! The characters are well crafted and with this, you’ll notice that The Walking Dead is more than just some explosive horror series. The survivors not only have to be careful for the zombies, within the community there’s danger too. The world might be coming at its end, this doesn’t stop people for wanting to have power over someone!

Anyway, what are you still doing on Peek-A-Boo? You should be in front of your television watching it, as along with House Of Cards and Gomorra this is the best you’ll find in 2014!

The 4th season from The Walking Dead is now out on DVD and Blu-ray at E One.

Didier BECU
02/10/2014


NL

Wanneer je een onvoorwaardelijke fan bent van The Walking Dead dan heb je het zeker en vast zelf al meegemaakt. Onwetenden die met hun handen in het haar maar niet kunnen begrijpen hoe iemand verslaafd kan zijn aan een serie over zombies. Toegegeven, zelfs de grootste horrorfan moet bekennen dat zombiefilms het subgenre bij uitstek is waar je aftandse rommel kan aantreffen. Maar, en dat heb je natuurlijk al verschillende keren gelezen, The Walking Dead is niet alleen de allerbeste horrorreeks aller tijden. de serie die op de stripverhalen van Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore en Charlie Adlard is gebaseerd behoort gewoon tout court tot het beste van wat televisie ooit te bieden heeft gehad.

Natuurlijk hebben de makers de bijna onmogelijke opdracht om het apocalyptische verhaal dat zich in Atlanta (Georgia) afspeelt voldoende interessant te houden. Er was al wat kritiek hoorbaar van mensen die vonden dat het derde seizoen net iets te langdradig was en daar heeft regisseur Frank Darabont blijkbaar oren naar gehad. Het vierde seizoen lost alle hoge verwachtingen in. Ook al duurt het een paar afleveringen vooraleer de zombiecarrousel volop begint te draaien, is het vierde luik de kers op de taart geworden. Ofschoon de makers beloven dat het vijfde seizoen nog beter zal worden! Natuurlijk doen ze dat...

Het derde deel had inderdaad wel de kracht van bijv. de Gouverneur (David Morrissey die daarmee één van de grootste slechteriken aller tijden neerzet), toch speelde de reeks zich net iets te veel in de verlaten gevangenis af. Daar komt grondige verandering in. De groep overlevenden die onder leiding staat van gewezen politieagent Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) is erin geslaagd om het hoofd te bieden aan de levende doden. Hun schuilplaats is volledig afgesloten en geen zombie die er nog binnen kan! Eventjes zou je gaan denken dat The Walking Dead voer is geworden voor romantische zielen, maar dat kan natuurlijk niet! Er breekt een verschrikkelijke ziekte uit en men is verplicht om buitenshuis te gaan om een vaccin te zoeken. Op deze tocht komen ze heel wat personages tegen die ze beter niet hadden gezien!

Neen, daar laten we het bij. Als je denkt dat we hier spoilers gaan weggeven ben je bij ons aan het verkeerde adres. De magie van dit vierde seizoen bestaat er immers in dat iedere aflevering met een cliffhanger wordt afgesloten die je gewoonweg verplicht om onmiddellijk naar de volgende te kijken. De personages zijn enorm uitgediept en het klopt wel dat The Walking Dead tevens een dramaserie is. De overlevenden moeten niet alleen op de hoede zijn voor bloeddorstige walkers, ook binnenin de gemeenschap is er regelmatig gevaar. Iedereen wil met de scepter zwaaien, ook al is er voor de wereld zelf geen hoop meer.

Wat doe je eigenlijk nog op de pagina’s van Peek-A-Boo? Je zou al voor het scherm moeten zitten! Samen met House Of Cards en Gomorra is dit het hoogtepunt van 2014 wat televisieseries betreft.

Het vierde seizoen van The Walking Dead is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray op E One.

Didier BECU
02/10/2014


02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4 02/10/2014 :  - THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4

 

Next reviews
TO ROCOCO ROT • Instrument
PSY'AVIAH • The Xenogamous Endeavour
TOM THE LION • Sleep
LAKE BELL • In A World
GIUSEPPE TORNATORE • The Best Offer
VIEON • The sound of the future
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
GUS GUS • Mexico
KEVIN HEWICK • All was numbered
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: HORROR + TV SERIES
• DRACULA SEASON 1
• True Blood Season 6
FRANK DARABONT • The Walking Dead Season 3

 

Same genre: HORROR
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
MY OWN SORROW • Entity
ORGAN • Tetro
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
MICHAEL WADLEIGH • Wolfen
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo