tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP

HOLLANDS HOOP

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series
Lumire
14/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When a Dutch series is compared with True Detective, Breaking Bad and the best the Coen Brothers have to offer, then expectations are really high. We have enough experience with advertisements to know that sometimes labels are exaggerating when they want to convince you to buy something, but Holland's Hope is without any doubt one the very best Dutch series ever. After eight episodes you only have one thought: sublime!

We only know it because we have picked up the information from the net, but Holland's Hope is some popular weed species. It is also the name of the farm in Groningen that psychiatrist Fokke (Marcel Hensema) inherits of his deceased father who he has not seen for years. Fokke likes a take a new start. He has a midlife crisis, while his wife Maggie (Kim van Kooten) talks about a divorce and the relation with his children Pepijn Martijn (Lake Meier) and Lara (Megan de Kruijf) isn’t that good either. Fokke doesn’t believe what he sees when he arrives. His Calvinist father turns out to be a ruthless drug dealer who collaborates with the Eastern European mafia and the local farmers.

Holland's Hope is not only very funny, or intolerable exciting, the performances are of a very high level. There is not only the charming Kim van Kooten, but also Peter Paul Muller who might be the most dangerous peasant you've ever seen on your television screen. And then of course (again!) there is the inimitable Peter van den Begin, who plays a psychopath who cuts off the heads of his victims so he can boil them afterwards in a pot! The series consists of eight episodes, and we guess this series is why they invented the term bingewatching. It would not surprise us if in America plans are already made to come up with an international version

Holland's Hope is released by Lumière, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/12/2014


NL

Als een Nederlandse serie in één adem met True Detective, Breaking Bad en het beste wat de Coen-broertjes hebben te bieden wordt genoemd, dan zijn de verwachtingen om het zacht uit te druk hoog gespannen. We hebben ondertussen al ervaring genoeg met reclamepraatjes, maar Hollands Hoop is zonder enige twijfel met verve de allerbeste Nederlandse serie ooit. Na acht afleveringen heb je maar één woord indje mond: subliem!

We weten het ook maar omdat we de informatie van het net hebben geplukt, maar Hollands Hoop zou één of andere populaire wietsoort zijn. Het is ook de naam van een Groningse boerderij die psychiater Fokke (Marcel Hensema) van zijn overleden vader erft die hij jaren niet meer heeft gezien. Fokke ziet zo’n nieuwe start wel zitten. Zelf zit hij er helemaal door, zijn vrouw Machteld (Kim van Kooten) heeft het over scheiden en ook met zijn kinderen Peppijn Martijn Lakemeier) en Lara (Megan de Kruijf) loopt het niet al te lekker. Eens op het landgoed gelooft Fokke niet wat hij ziet. Zijn calvinistische vader blijkt een meedogenloze drughandelaar te zijn, die met de Oost-Europese maffia en de lokale boeren samenwerkt.

Hollands Hoop is niet alleen ontzettend grappig, of onverdraagbaar spannend, ook de vertolking zijn van een ontzettend hoog niveau. Er is niet alleen de charmante Kim Van Kooten, maar ook bijv. Peter Paul Muller die wellicht de gevaarlijkste boer speelt die je ooit op je televisiescherm hebt gezien. En dan is natuurlijk (alweer!) de onnavolgbare Peter van den Begin die als psychopaat de hoofden van zijn slachtoffers afhakt om ze nadien in een kookpot te stoven! De serie bestaat uit 8 afleveringen en het is dat soort reeks waarvoor men de term bingewatching heeft bedacht. Het zou ons niet verwonderen als er in Amerika al plannen bestaan om hiervan een internationale versie te maken. Niet doen! Het Groningse dialect alleen is een reden om te kijken!

Nederlands Hoop is uitgebracht door Lumière, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/12/2014


14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP 14/12/2014 :  - HOLLANDS HOOP

 

Next reviews
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Nightingale Variations
MIKE LEIGH • Mr. Turner
MARCEL VANTHILT • Paracetamol Remix EP
JOSEPH VILSMAIER • Stalingrad
• BRAQUO - SEASON 2
THE WOLFHOUNDS • Unseen Ripples From A Pebble
EMMANUEL SILVESTRE • Villa Captive
DJ MARCELLE • Meets Most Soulmates At Faust studiolab DJ
HEARTLAY • Injection EP

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• THE CODE SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• THE FALL SERIES TWO

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures